[AppleTV] Remote control menus not working after upgrade Apple TV to XBMC 9.11

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #16
a12v13 Wrote:I though I was going crazy with this. The option for contextmenu doesnt work with any button on the appletv in fullscreen mode. The context menu works in all the other sections but not whne you are streaming video. Is there anyway to downgrade your installation or to re-install XBMC 9.04. Thanks everyone for all the info.

a12v13

Mind posting your modified xml?
you can also ssh into your ATV and watch what key-presses Launcher receives by typing
Code:
tail -f /Library/Logs/Console/501/console.log


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ihehner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
The biggest issue for me is that without being able to get to the ODS menu with the Apple remote there is no way for me to get rid of subtitles. If I had a different way I'd be ok too, but most my movies have subtitles I don't want displayed.
find quote
a12v13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
I have the same problem here. I have tried changing the joystick.Appleremote.xml trying to get the contextmenu to work but no matter what button I assign it still doesnt work. If I hold the center key on the remote I get the same symptom, XBMC reboots.

a12v13
find quote
a12v13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
MaestroDD



<keymap>
<global>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<!-- plus --> <button id="1">Up</button>
<!-- minus --> <button id="2">Down</button>
<!-- left --> <button id="3">Left</button>
<!-- right --> <button id="4">Right</button>
<!-- center --> <button id="5">Select</button>
<!-- menu --> <button id="6">PreviousMenu</button>
<!-- hold center --> <button id="7">Fullscreen</button>
<!-- hold menu --> <button id="8">ContextMenu</button>
<!-- old buttons for ATV <2.2, used on OSX -->
<!-- hold left --> <button id="9">Left</button>
<!-- hold right --> <button id="10">Right</button>
<!-- new aluminium remote buttons -->
<!-- play --> <button id="12">Play</button>
<!-- play hold --> <button id="13">ContextMenu</button>
<!-- Learned remote buttons (ATV >2.3) -->
<!-- Play --> <button id="70">Play</button>
<!-- Pause --> <button id="71">Pause</button>
<!-- Stop --> <button id="72">Stop</button>
<!-- Previous --> <button id="73">SkipPrevious</button>
<!-- Next --> <button id="74">SkipNext</button>
<!-- Rewind --> <button id="75">Rewind</button>
<!-- Forward --> <button id="76">FastForward</button>
<!-- Return --> <button id="77">OSD</button>
<!-- Enter --> <button id="78">ShowVideoMenu</button>
<!-- few gestures from Apple's iPhone Remote (ATV > 2.3 ?) -->
<!-- SwipeLeft --> <button id="80">Left</button>
<!-- SwipeRight --> <button id="81">Right</button>
<!-- SwipeUp --> <button id="82">Up</button>
<!-- SwipeDown --> <button id="83">Down</button>
</joystick>
</global>
<Home>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">XBMC.ActivateWindow(Favourites)</button>
<button id="8">ActivateWindow(shutdownmenu)</button>
</joystick>
</Home>
<Favourites>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</Favourites>
<MyPictures>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">ParentDir</button>
</joystick>
</MyPictures>
<MyMusicPlaylist>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Playlist</button>
</joystick>
</MyMusicPlaylist>
<MyMusicPlaylistEditor>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Playlist</button>
</joystick>
</MyMusicPlaylistEditor>
<MyMusicFiles>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">ParentDir</button>
</joystick>
</MyMusicFiles>
<MyMusicLibrary>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">ParentDir</button>
</joystick>
</MyMusicLibrary>
<FullscreenVideo>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="1">VolumeUp</button>
<button id="2">VolumeDown</button>
<button id="3">StepBack</button>
<button id="4">StepForward</button>
<button id="5">Pause</button>
<button id="6">Stop</button>
<button id="7">OSD</button>
<button id="8">ContextMenu</button>
<button id="9">Rewind</button>
<button id="10">FastForward</button>
</joystick>
</FullscreenVideo>
<FullscreenInfo>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</FullscreenInfo>
<PlayerControls>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</PlayerControls>
<Visualisation>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="1">VolumeUp</button>
<button id="2">VolumeDown</button>
<button id="3">SkipPrevious</button>
<button id="4">SkipNext</button>
<button id="5">Pause</button>
<button id="6">Fullscreen</button>
<button id="7">XBMC.ActivateWindow(MusicOSD)</button>
<button id="8">Stop</button>
</joystick>
</Visualisation>
<MusicOSD>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</MusicOSD>
<VisualisationSettings>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</VisualisationSettings>
<VisualisationPresetList>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</VisualisationPresetList>
<SlideShow>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="1">ZoomIn</button>
<button id="2">ZoomOut</button>
<button id="3">PreviousPicture</button>
<button id="4">NextPicture</button>
<button id="6">Stop</button>
<button id="7">Info</button>
</joystick>
</SlideShow>
<ScreenCalibration>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="5">NextCalibration</button>
</joystick>
</ScreenCalibration>
<SelectDialog>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</SelectDialog>
<VideoOSD>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</VideoOSD>
<VideoMenu>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="5">Select</button>
<button id="6">Stop</button>
<button id="7">OSD</button>
<button id="8"/>
</joystick>
</VideoMenu>
<OSDVideoSettings>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</OSDVideoSettings>
<OSDAudioSettings>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</OSDAudioSettings>
<VideoBookmarks>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</VideoBookmarks>
<MyVideoLibrary>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">ParentDir</button>
<button id="7">Info</button>
</joystick>
</MyVideoLibrary>
<MyVideoFiles>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">ParentDir</button>
<button id="7">Info</button>
</joystick>
</MyVideoFiles>
<MyVideoPlaylist>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Playlist</button>
</joystick>
</MyVideoPlaylist>
<VirtualKeyboard>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</VirtualKeyboard>
<ContextMenu>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</ContextMenu>
<FileStackingDialog>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</FileStackingDialog>
<MusicInformation>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</MusicInformation>
<MovieInformation>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</MovieInformation>
<PictureInfo>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="3">Left</button>
<button id="4">Right</button>
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</PictureInfo>
</keymap>
find quote
Angrenost Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
As said before,in this mod i see OSD pressing the "volume down" button.


</FullscreenVideo>
<FullscreenInfo>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</FullscreenInfo>
<PlayerControls>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="6">Close</button>
</joystick>
</PlayerControls>
<Visualisation>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="1">VolumeUp</button>
<button id="2">OSD</button> <-----------------------------MY MOD---------
<button id="3">SkipPrevious</button>
<button id="4">SkipNext</button>
<button id="5">Pause</button>
<button id="6">Fullscreen</button>
<button id="7">XBMC.ActivateWindow(MusicOSD)</button>
<button id="8">Stop</button>
find quote
Angrenost Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
a12v13 Wrote:The context menu works in all the other sections but not when you are streaming video.
a12v13

Uhmm not for me,contextmenu doesn't appear in any section,so i am unable to delete Sources without acces via SSH to sources.xml.
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #22
Okey, please recap. It's seems that Play_hold isn't recognized by Launcher/XBMC and instead sent to the ATV, which sends it to Standby. I can't reproduce this here on ATV v3.01

Does someone seeing this problem mind posting complete information about this? Complete as in:
- ATV version
- How was it patched (atv-usb-creator, ...)
- console.log (clicking around, hold Play button)
- xbmc.log

Thanks in advance,
mdd


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
a12v13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
MaestroDD

- ATV version is 2.0
- How was it patched (atv-usb-creator, ...)- patch via usb-creator
- console.log (clicking around, hold Play button)
- xbmc.log

is there anyway to attache files instead of sending long psots? I will try to send the console.log and xbmc.log tonight. I also wanted to try upgrading the aptv to version 3.x and patching it. is this known to work? will I have the same probelm. I rather go back to xbmc 9.04 if possible.

Thank You
a12v13
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #24
Hey a12v13,

thanks for the update!

a12v13 Wrote:MaestroDD

- ATV version is 2.0

uhm, that one is quite old, and might have some problems. Sorry, none here to test with :/

a12v13 Wrote:- How was it patched (atv-usb-creator, ...)- patch via usb-creator
- console.log (clicking around, hold Play button)
- xbmc.log

is there anyway to attache files instead of sending long psots? I will try to send the console.log and xbmc.log tonight.


sure, just paste them to your favorite pastebin (pastebin.com, pastebin.ca, ...) and link to them here.

a12v13 Wrote:I also wanted to try upgrading the aptv to version 3.x and patching it. is this known to work? will I have the same probelm.
depending on the platform you're using to create the patchstick there's more or less manual work needed (think the OSX version of atv-usb-creator has still an old&incompatible Launcher version). If you still have your old patchstick, just use that one, it should work. After patching the 3.x, ssh in and install Launcher manually, then download XBMC and you should be ready to go.

a12v13 Wrote:I rather go back to xbmc 9.04 if possible.
naaah, forwards is the right direction... Wink

Thanks,
mdd


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
a12v13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
MaestroDD

is the patchis usb createor for windows better than the one for osx? I can use the windows one if needed.

a12v13
find quote
ihehner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Modifying the joystick.Appleremote.xml worked. I can get to the OSD menu again Smile I usually don't use Volume Down on the Appleremote anyways. Thanks for the tip.
find quote
Angrenost Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
You are welcome.

I solved my problem by myself:

<MyVideoFiles>
<joystick name="AppleRemote">
<button id="4">ContextMenu</button> <------------
<button id="6">ParentDir</button>
<button id="7">Info</button>
<button id="8">ContextMenu</button> <-------------

I use vertical file list,now i can access again to contextmenu pressing "right button".
Hold menu doesn't work,i have the new aluminium Apple remote,maybe no compatibility?
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #28
a12v13 Wrote:MaestroDD

is the patchis usb createor for windows better than the one for osx? I can use the windows one if needed.

a12v13

The windows version is a one-shot solution, while the Mac version still needs manual install of Launcher.

Still:
If anyone is interested to get this solved properly, please post console.log.


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
a12v13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Maestro DD
I upgraded the appletv to version 3.01 and it looks very nice. But the problem I have now is creating the patchstick using windows. I donloaded the atv-win zip file, installed the app but when I create the patchstick it doesnt boot to it. i think I am missing the step to crete the boot option using mk-atv-xbmc.bat or using mk-atv-xbmc-ssh.bat but I cant seem to find these files anywhere in my downloaded zip files. I found the section that explains ho to make the patchstick using these two batch files and then install the rest of the image in the patchstick using the utility. I also tried to install the Loader manually, I was able to ssh into the box, upload the files but I am missing the command line to install loader. Anyone input?

Thank You
a12v13
find quote
blahblahblah Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Maestro DD,

I have the same problem, console.log attached. Thanks for looking into this. Much appreciated. Let me know if you need anything else.

2010-01-21 16:19:43.164: Started XBMC
2010-01-21 16:20:06.975: Hold Play Button (for 7+ seconds)
2010-01-21 16:20:19.218: Pressed Play button again

HJS

2010-01-21 16:19:43.164 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCAppliance controllerForIdentifier:args:]
2010-01-21 16:19:43.164 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController initWithAppPath:arguments:helperPath:lauchAgentFileName:]
2010-01-21 16:19:43.164 Finder[107] [DEBUG] objc_object* -[XBMCClientWrapper initWithUniversalMode:serverAddress:](XBMCClientWrapper*, objc_selector*, bool, NSString*)
2010-01-21 16:19:43.164 Finder[107] [DEBUG] XBMCClientWrapperImpl::XBMCClientWrapperImpl(bool, const std::string&)
2010-01-21 16:19:43.262 Finder[107] [DEBUG] XBMCClientWrapperImpl started in normal mode sending to address localhost
2010-01-21 16:19:43.841 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController controlWasActivated]
2010-01-21 16:19:43.841 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController startAppAndAttachListener]
2010-01-21 16:19:43.841 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController disableRendering]
2010-01-21 16:19:43.876 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -------Logged BRDisplayManagerDisplayOffline
2010-01-21 16:19:44.237 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -------Logged BRDisplayManagerStopRenderingNotification
2010-01-21 16:19:44.237 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController deleteHelperLaunchAgent]
2010-01-21 16:19:44.238 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Failed to delete/No LaunchAgent file at /Users/frontrow/Library/LaunchAgents/org.xbmc.helper.plist
2010-01-21 16:19:44.294 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController disableScreenSaver]
2010-01-21 16:19:44.786 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController setAppToFrontProcess]
2010-01-21 16:19:44.787 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Waiting to get process...
2010-01-21 16:19:47.806 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Waiting for process to be visible
2010-01-21 16:19:47.807 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Process is visible, making it front
Asking helper to start.
sh: line 1: /mnt/Scratch/Users/frontrow/Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/tools/osx/XBMCHelper: No such file or directory
nothing found to load
2010-01-21 16:20:06.975 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 4 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:08.752 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:08.916 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 released
2010-01-21 16:20:09.130 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:09.292 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 released
2010-01-21 16:20:09.792 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:09.882 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 released
2010-01-21 16:20:10.631 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 4 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:11.984 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:12.149 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 released
2010-01-21 16:20:12.399 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:12.565 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 released
2010-01-21 16:20:12.984 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 pressed
2010-01-21 16:20:13.074 Finder[107] [DEBUG] got action 3 released
Jan 21 16:20:18 AppleTV /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppleTV.framework/Resources/SettingsHelper: Request to change power settings: 1
2010-01-21 16:20:19.218 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController controlWasDeactivated]
2010-01-21 16:20:21.403 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController enableRendering]
2010-01-21 16:20:21.433 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -------Logged BRDisplayManagerDisplayOnline
2010-01-21 16:20:21.433 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -------Logged BRDisplayManagerResumeRenderingNotification
2010-01-21 16:20:21.434 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController deleteHelperLaunchAgent]
2010-01-21 16:20:21.434 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Failed to delete/No LaunchAgent file at /Users/frontrow/Library/LaunchAgents/org.xbmc.helper.plist
2010-01-21 16:20:21.434 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController disableSwatterIfActive]
2010-01-21 16:20:21.434 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController enableScreenSaver]
Jan 21 16:20:25 AppleTV mDNSResponder: Repeated transitions for interface en1 (192.168.2.5); delaying packets by 5 seconds
Jan 21 16:20:52 AppleTV /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppleTV.framework/Resources/SettingsHelper: Request to change power settings: 0
2010-01-21 16:20:53.222 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController controlWasActivated]
2010-01-21 16:20:53.223 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController startAppAndAttachListener]
2010-01-21 16:20:53.223 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController disableRendering]
2010-01-21 16:20:53.228 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -------Logged BRDisplayManagerDisplayOffline
2010-01-21 16:20:53.481 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -------Logged BRDisplayManagerStopRenderingNotification
2010-01-21 16:20:53.481 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController deleteHelperLaunchAgent]
2010-01-21 16:20:53.482 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Failed to delete/No LaunchAgent file at /Users/frontrow/Library/LaunchAgents/org.xbmc.helper.plist
2010-01-21 16:20:53.531 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController disableScreenSaver]
2010-01-21 16:20:53.976 Finder[107] [DEBUG] -[XBMCPureController setAppToFrontProcess]
2010-01-21 16:20:53.977 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Waiting to get process...
Asking helper to start.
sh: line 1: /mnt/Scratch/Users/frontrow/Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/tools/osx/XBMCHelper: No such file or directory
nothing found to load
2010-01-21 16:20:54.483 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Waiting for process to be visible
2010-01-21 16:20:54.483 Finder[107] [DEBUG] Process is visible, making it front
find quote