Change home icon based on submenu item?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
craigd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi all,

After great help in my last thread I'm getting alaska set up almost exactly as I want, I've setup the video home menu item to be links to my favourite plugins and playlists.

Is there any easy way when adding items to the submenu to have it change the image displayed like with the recently added items.

I want to have setions for iplayer, hd movies, documentaries...etc. and have the image change to reflect which item I am going to.

any ideas how I can change this?
find quote
Ayla Offline
Fan
Posts: 605
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I would really like this too... Smile

Sub menus with Documentaries, Stand-up etc. and changing icons would be nice.
find quote
Heretic9 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I think thats a limitation of xbmc itself. The only way to separate out documentaries, standup etc is via Sets.

See:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=63476
find quote
craigd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Just to clarify, I've already created the submenu items I just need to know how to change the image displayed in the video panel from the default depending on what item is selected.
find quote
Hidd3nFury Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I would be interested in this aswell. Would be nice to have the image switch to the iplayer logo when I change to its submenu item.
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,749
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 98
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #6
I've included the ability to add your own images for Custom Sub Menu buttons but they will require a bit of user legwork.

PHP Code:
    <!--TV Sub Menu-->
    <include 
name="CustomTVButtons">
        <
control type="button" id="3507">
            <
label>$LOCALIZE[40170]</label>
            <
onclick>ActivateWindow(24,plugin://video/IPlayer/?tvradio=tv)</onclick>
            
<include>Home_MainMenuLabel</include>
        </
control>
    </include>
    <include 
name="CustomTVImages">
        <
control type="image">
            <include>
Home_MainMenuIconF</include>
            <
texture diffuse="mainmenu/homematte.png" fallback="backdrops/tvshows.jpg">customimages/iplayer.jpg</texture>
            <
visible>ControlGroup(3500).HasFocus() + ControlGroup(3500).HasFocus(3507)</visible>
        </
control>
    </include> 
and the result -

[Image: screenshot008am.jpg]
find quote
MrTourettes Offline
Fan
Posts: 330
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Cambridge
Post: #7
edit: I asked a question but found answer to it myself.. shame you cant delete your own posts in here Sad
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-19 01:08 by MrTourettes.)
find quote