Scripting question about a few things
ok guys, i'm totally new to python on xbmc so there is probably a simple answer to this.

i'm trying to execute an xbe file from a python script. i've searched all the usual xbmc places for a script which does this already but there doesn't seem to be one. there is this in the xbmc library:

xbmc.executescript = []
executescript(string) -- execute a python script. example: - executescript('q:\scripts\update.py')

which executes a python script but i can't find something that will execute an actual xbe file.

also, i'm trying to write a script which will switch the view to the weather. none of the classes in either the xbcm library or the xbmcgui library seem to be able to do this.

am i missing something obvious?
you're probably out of luck, when it comes to executing an xbe. i just read yesterday one of the devs posted that it can't be done, to the best of his knowledge. now, that wasn't darkie (darkie's the only one developing the python stuff), so it's not necessarily true, but it sounded true.

anyway, there's not currently a python command that will do it, but you should try using "os.startfile(path)" with the name of the xbe. that's how you'd execute a .exe on a windows machine, anyway, but the xbmc port of the os module seems sketchy at best.

to view the weather, read darkie's last post here. i don't know for sure that it will work, but if you can find the window id for weather, i imagine the same trick will work.

alexpoet
For scripts, script development tools, and documentation, visit my website:
http://www.maskedfox.com/xbmc/
thanks for the quick reply. the code to display the weather (and other windows) was really easy.

Quote:import xbmc, xbmcgui

myweather=xbmcgui.window(12600)
myweather.show()

job done Smile

just scan through the key.h file which is here for more codes. i've written scripts which do all the other major pages and it seems to work fine.