keyboard.xml not interpreted well
Question 
Hello,

I'm very new to XBMC and I like it. I would like to use it for my HTPC. I bought remote control "Shape PC Remote" by Fractal (http://www.fractal-design.com/?view=product&prod=22)

This appears in system as HID which is cool because you don't need any drivers. I have checked for keystroke definitions and it sends standard MCE shortcuts (Shift-Ctrl-P for Play; Ctrl-P for Pause; Ctrl-B for Previous track; Shift-Ctrl-B for Rewind;...) I have changed my ~/.xbmc/userdata/keymaps/keyboard.xml

Code:
<p mod="ctrl">Pause</p>
<b mod="ctrl,shift">Rewind</b>
<b mod="ctrl">SkipPrevious</b>

But I still cannot get these shortcuts working Stare

I have found that mod keys are used since 9.11 version so I downloaded sources and compiled xbmc. Unfortunately behaviour is same as xbmc from repository.

I was reading source code and playing with modifications of keyboard.xml.

I have defined
Code:
<n>Pause</n>
and it worked on normal keyboard fine. I was surprised that video playback was paused also with combination of keys Shift-N. I don't think this is OK because with some remotes it depends on Shift key.

Then I have defined
Code:
<n mod="shift">Pause</n>
and behaviour was same as without mod.

Then I defined
Code:
<n mod="ctrl">Pause</n>
and found playback will not pause when pressing combination Ctrl-N, but when I presed Alt-N or Alt-Shift-N playback was paused. Shocked

At last I have defined
Code:
<n mod="alt">Pause</n>
and playback stopped when any of following combination was pressed:
N; Shift-N; Alt-N; Alt-Shift-N; Shift-Alt-N Huh

Could you please let me know what's wrong?

I have Ubuntu 9.10 (Karmic) and XBMC 9.11 (build from source code).
Did you get the source using SVN, and if so which build? When I added support for the key modifiers I tested it on Linux, but that was a lot of builds ago. If you have the latest build then the MCE keys like ctrl-shift-P are already in system/keymaps/keyboard.xml.