Best file format?
What is the best file format to rip dvd for playback on XBMC? Iso, MP4 or MPV? For smallest file size but not losing quality. I currently do ISO but wondering if there is a format that would take less space on the hard drive but same playback quality and a good program to do the convert. Thank you for any suggestions you may have )
With any conversion you are going to lose some quality. With the amount of time spent on converting movie I think its better to buy more HD space instead of wasting tons of time converting.

If you still have your heart set on converting to save space I would look into H.264 which is the latest stuff people are converting to and maybe Xvid.
The only reason is I have so many movies in the 1500 range. havent heard of that one im kinda new to all this a Noob you could say
Haha, man 1500 movies to convert is a lot of time in front of a computer.

Even if you were to cut the movies in half you would still need 3-5 tb I figure.

I know they're are some guys on here with large amounts of storage. Hopefully they can chime in on this.
h.264 sounds interesting format wonder if there is a good convertor out there thats free?
The one that gets used the most is handbrake. Its free too.

http://handbrake.fr/

I think you need to have the dvd ripped into file/folder format.

If your on a win PC try this. If you need DVD ripping software download DVDFab HD Decrypter.

http://www.dvdfab.com/free.htm
sweet thanx so much for youre help ill give handbrake and try and see how mp4 is )
Gonna try MKV format dunno but MP4 in handbrake actually makes the file larger when going from iso? but gonna give MKV a try it dramatically reduces the file size
Why bother shrinking?

Even if shrinking takes 30 mins per movie your still over 31 days of CPU time.

I would definitely just use makemkv and grab native.... the best you can achieve with all the comression is saving one 1.5TB HDD. Its simply not worth it