[REQUEST] Netflix 'Watch Now' plugin, script, or native code (with metadata scraper)?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,181
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 175
Post: #181
As I indicated earlier, that's essentially completely useless if you want actual playback of video. What you need is the webkit "player" which is embedded in the closed-source portion of Plex.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
fekker Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 30
Post: #182
if you want to try the one i've been working on, see this post
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=658...stcount=24

pm me or reply in that thread with feedback, keep in mind it's a work in progress
find quote
afitz2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #183
Has there been any attempt to get the Boxee Netflix app working on XBMC?

Where might I start if it hasn't?
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,181
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 175
Post: #184
Nope - I think you'll find that it's primarily just displaying a browser.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #185
jmarshall Wrote:Nope - I think you'll find that it's primarily just displaying a browser.

Which XBMC can do too: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Usi...nal_player

JR
find quote
afitz2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #186
jmarshall Wrote:Nope - I think you'll find that it's primarily just displaying a browser.

Way more than just a web browser.

[Image: 2gue3o9.jpg]
find quote
fekker Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 30
Post: #187
I could be wrong, but I'll bet that displaying the content is an API call
And playing it back, is a browser

In XBMC Flicks (the plugin for Netflix for XBMC), that's How I did it. That plugin has just been released for Windows and OSX, Linux can't play the files (due to DRM in Silverlight not being available in Linux)

The calls to get the content in the plugin for Netflix, uses API calls to get the information and playback links to a browser that uses silverlight


[Image: 68570324.jpg]

[Image: 90403637.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-17 00:04 by fekker.)
find quote
Drazzilb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #188
I just downloaded Boxee and played around with their integrated netflix setup for the most part i liked it however i like XBMC even more. I know there is an addon already in works for Netflix.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...ht=netflix

However, my question is, are there any plans on integrating netflix into XBMC in a way like the xbox, ps3 and even the wii. instead Further increasing the Media experiance with watching streaming videos of movies you havnt yet ripped Tongue

I did do a quick search to see if somebody had already added this question and came up with nothing if it had and i missed it I apologize in advance.

Thanks
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #189
What is wrong with an Add-On?

Since Netflix can't play on Linux, I don't see a reason for support beyond that.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
KennethC Offline
Donor
Posts: 62
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #190
poofyhairguy Wrote:What is wrong with an Add-On?

Since Netflix can't play on Linux, I don't see a reason for support beyond that.

I think an add-on would be great if it didn't have to drop out of XBMC and play from IE. It's not a huge deal, but it's not seamless and makes using a remote control really difficult. It would be great if the add-on could play directly within XBMC using its player and present the appropriate OSD that comes with the selected skin, albeit in a limited fashion as Netflix's video control is limited by its nature.

The above linked add-on is really close, I think.
find quote
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #191
apt-get install ie

I can't seem to find IE. Maybe if you give more info the devs might be able to integrate it.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find quote
avus m3 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #192
I thought there was a Silverlight compatible program in Linux?
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #193
avus m3 Wrote:I thought there was a Silverlight compatible program in Linux?

Yes, but Moonlight (Linux's Silverlight) lacks the DRM needed for Netflix to bless the platform with support.

In fact, the Boxee Box shows that Netflix will do almost ANYTHING to keep their library away from us Linux hackers.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
hudo Offline
Fan
Posts: 544
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Post: #194
darkscout Wrote:apt-get install ie

I can't seem to find IE. Maybe if you give more info the devs might be able to integrate it.

I have a feeling apt-get install ie isn't going to work...

My stomach tells me he is talking about Micro$oft IE.
Or, perhaps, I shouldn't have eaten that huge tuna fillet.

Big Grin

hudo
find quote
Post Reply