Jaunty or Karmic?
I'm new to linux and have had a steep learning curve since buyin my revo 3610. I currently have full fat karmic and xbmc 9.11 but have issues with lip synch in mkv's and some form of dynamic brightness within Karmic that makes the screen go dark and light randomly (not a TV issue). So Im wondering if its worth going to the older jaunty, is it worth the hassle?

TIA d3fiant
Acer Revo 3610 : 2GB RAM : 320GB HDD : Ubuntu 10.4.1 : XBMC dharma final : Sony Bavia 40" over HDMI
It's not too much hastle if you have a thumb drive. install live on a thumbdrive and then try downgrading the kernel. This way you don't make perminant changes to your media center.

Keep in mind though, XBMC does rely on some of the 9.11 core features. You may get errors.
Use mythicalLibrarian to make a library out of your MythTV files. Leave the recording to MythTV and use XBMC as your library.
Installation and Instructions:http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=MythicalLibrarian
Technical Support:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=65644
[url=http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?tid=1081892][/url]
What 9.11 core features? 8.04 LTS works nicely here. Waiting patiently for the next LTS build.
d3fiant Wrote:I'm new to linux and have had a steep learning curve since buyin my revo 3610. I currently have full fat karmic and xbmc 9.11 but have issues with lip synch in mkv's and some form of dynamic brightness within Karmic that makes the screen go dark and light randomly (not a TV issue). So Im wondering if its worth going to the older jaunty, is it worth the hassle?

TIA d3fiant

I had mkv issues and installing mplayer-nogui fixed it for me. Dramatic difference.

sudo apt-get install mplayer-nogui
I have noticed my XBMC install is jaunty, while a lot of other programs are karmic. Can I change my XBMC to karmic? What's the difference anyway?