XBMC-Live Install script. For Minimal Unbuntu Install

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
ppic Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 2,711
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 11
Location: France idf
Post: #61
yes he can

[Image: widget]
Passion-XBMC Repository Download your SVN skins and addons
TvTunes Addon Download Play your theme while browsing library
TVshow Next Aired display next aired infos from tvrage.com
Logo Downloader Script download Logo/clearart/show thumbs/poster/banner
Bande-Annonce Allociné plugin watch trailers in french and vo
SportLive Script Live score match info in XBMC (not compatible dharma)
find
ClayM Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #62
The-Boxhead Wrote:the skin you want is "rapier" - this is what should have been the default skin Wink
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=65895

You can get it from within xbmc by using the repo installer or download manually.

Agreed, Rapier is my skin of choice.
find
FireMan Offline
Donor
Posts: 221
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #63
Thanks The-Boxhed, I will give rapier it a try! Looks very promising.

@ adave: I did try ShowMix 2.5 about a month ago. It works well. I just didn't like the default backdrops and I was too lazy to search new ones. LoL.
It has the same performance of the confluence, which means that the backdrops and fanarts take about 1 second to change (this is normal with any ION box and does not slow down to browse the media!).

Cheers.
(This post was last modified: 2010-04-04 16:14 by FireMan.)
find
hoozel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #64
I tried this version last night, went through all the steps. I am new to Linux so maybe i made a mistake.
Everything went good right up to the step to update to latest build, It asked me for a Password when i tried to run the Update command line. and then kicked me.
find
jarthur911 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #65
Hi there
I successfully installed xbmc using the xci.sh script but when the system is rebooted my mce remote stops working. I can re-add the remote functions by running the remote section of the script again, but I would like the remote to work after a reboot, any help you can give would be appreciated.
find
splnuts Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #66
I used this script last night on my new ion build (zotac ionitx-a-u). Worked perfectly. Took a little longer then I thought but glad it worked. Saved me a lot of research. I am having trouble with the built in wireless (working but slow) but there have been reports of the same issue with this board.
find
Ticko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #67
Installed with this script today on a asrock ion 330 ht. Worked flawless! Great work!
find
toby77jo Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #68
gents,

i really want to get hold of 1.09 beta..

any svn for this script?
find
tkainusa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #69
Thanks for great script. Anyway I have one problem. After I have ran the script and my Mag boots, I need to login to ubuntu after XBMC splash. If I login as root, there is only "command promt". What did I do wrong?

Edit. I installed ubuntu again and I think now it works Smile
(This post was last modified: 2010-04-12 18:17 by tkainusa.)
find
d3CoY Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #70
Installed it on a PoV MB330-1 mobo with a 32GB SSD in it (Karmic install).
Runs perfectly.. even the USB Wireless dongle (TP TL-WN821N) work nicely.
HD Streaming over the wireless with the dongle works!

Thank you for the script, really hope the 1.09 comes out soon, still want the 23 FPS option
Big Grin
find
jgs2n Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #71
Installed script and all is working with one problem.

Every time I reboot, I lose the network connection. If I go and change the workgroup setting under network to anything, xbmc restarts and networking is fine. Anyone have troubleshooting advice? Thanks.
find
idlehands Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #72
I checked the screen shots to make sure that grub2 was recommended, but it seems like the xci script is using vga parms in grub instead of the grfx payload options. Is this intended behavior? I just updated grub to pull those out. Made the cli impossible to work with anyways.(i had to recover a with fsck for some reason once)

Also, everything worked fairly well, except the sensors install seems to hang, and now i've cobbled something else up.

-sigh-
find
adave Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #73
Hi guys. You are posting a lot of valuable questions and information. Please post this stuff over at the XCI's new community X3 and andyblac started.

https://sourceforge.net/apps/phpbb/xci/index.php

The more knowledge we start compiling there the better it will be for all XCI users.
find
rickx Online
Senior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #74
Using
Code:
sensors -u | tail -n4
I get
Code:
temp1_max: 84.00
  temp1_crit: 100.00
  temp1_crit_alarm: 0.00
(last row empty)
so the rest of that script part would not work. Raising it to
Code:
sensors -u | tail -n[color=bred][b]5[/b][/color]
solved it, 6 or 7 would also do.
find
archmage4ever Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Question  What am i doing wrong?
Post: #75
Hi guys!

Great script, but i cannot install it.

I am running Debian 5.0.4 and when i've downloaded the script and try to run it i get the following errormessage:
Code:
./xci.sh: line 44: syntax error near unexpected token `>'
./xci.sh: line 44: 'wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4953107/XCIU/dialogrc &>> ~/setup/logs/xci-script-upgrade.log'

Am i not running it properly?
find
Thread Closed