[linux] installing XBMC on a zotac ion - antec fusion - opensuse combi
Hi,

I've been setting up my HTPC the last month, and since I've encountered a lot of issues on the way, I thought I just sum up my experiences so that other people might have less trouble.
My system is based on a Zotac IonITX in an Antec Fusion Remote case, very neat though a bit larger than it needs to be (the hardware set up was also a bit tricky; if anybody's interested, I can write more about that). The computer is supposed to play music, surf the net, and work as a backup server in my local network.
I decided to do all this in linux, for security and license issues but also just for the heck of it Wink. As I'm a total noob in linux, I've tried a couple of distributions and came to stick with openSuse, mainly because it's working with pre-compiled packages which help you avoiding the "make"-ing of your software which never worked for me.
So here's the setting up:

1. OpenSuse (11.2 64 bit):
a. Install it. The set up menu is pretty straight forward. I've created three partitions (2 Gigs /swap, 6 Gigs /home, and 22 Gigs /) for the system, the rest (~ 600 GB) is used by a NTFS formated data partition. I've chosen the KDE desktop.
b. Install the nvidia drivers using YaST. The repository (YaST -> Software -> Software Repositories -> Add) can be found at http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/11.2/.
c. Install Skype if you feel like it. For that, download the skype.rpm from http://www.skype.com/download/skype/linux/. Install libqt4-32, libqtB-x11-32, and xorg-x11-libXv-32bit via YaST to resolve the dependencies, then open skype.rpm.
d. Install xbmc if you haven't already Big Grin. YaST even offers the beta, I've used the 9.11-1.pm.4.1 version and the Confluence skin.
e. The NTFS partition should be mounted on start-up. For that, edit /etc/fstab following this guide http://forums.opensuse.org/new-user-how-...ually.html.
2. Set up the LCD display and the remote: