[RELEASE] Rom Collection Browser - Browse and launch emulator game ROMs

  Thread Rating:
  • 17 Votes - 4.82 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
acandido Offline
Donor
Posts: 56
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Toronto
Post: #4276
For anyone running nightlies and unable to launch RCB, the following worked for me:

On line 72 of default.py change
Code:
if param == '' or param == 'script.games.rom.collection.browser':
to
Code:
if param == '' or param == 'script.games.rom.collection.browser' or param == 'default.py':

It looks like default.py is passed as the param from xbmc now, not sure exactly what piece of new code changed this and also not sure what my little hack will affect as I'm not a developer. Smile
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-20 22:54 by acandido.)
find quote
versus Offline
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4277
(2014-07-20 22:37)acandido Wrote:  For anyone running nightlies and unable to launch RCB, the following worked for me:

On line 72 of default.py change
Code:
if param == '' or param == 'script.games.rom.collection.browser':
to
Code:
if param == '' or param == 'script.games.rom.collection.browser' or param == 'default.py':

It looks like default.py is passed as the param from xbmc now, not sure exactly what piece of new code changed this and also not sure what my little hack will affect as I'm not a developer. Smile


Nice finding. It works now. Thanks.
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-21 08:46 by versus.)
find quote
bardock Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4278
Hi everyone

can someone please tell me how to get the widget workin? I m using gotham with confluence mod from mudislander as the skin.
find quote
trnzaddict Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4279
Malte, is there a way to have a default fanart for each system? Like I have high definition fanart pictures of game consoles, and when I am browsing say, Game Gear, I just want to have this fan art of gamegear in the background, for every game in that rom collection, WITHOUT making a copy of the fanart and naming it the same as all my roms for that collection.


I tried putting the picture in the fan art folder for game gear and named it default.jpg, but it doesn't work.
find quote
Bedwyr Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4280
(2014-07-19 21:20)Bedwyr Wrote:  I'm a little confused. Is there no way to manually import and link specific games with specific artwork? If I can't do that, how should I go about troubleshooting missing games and artwork? Note that I've renamed everything according to standard HyperLaunch naming convention, so artwork, games, and videos have the exact same name already. I know that there is some missing material, but RCB is missing a large number of things.


Log below:
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=249914

Any response to this? I'd like to get some advice about how to proceed.

If it helps I can give an example of one missing game: Actraiser 2.

filename: ActRaiser 2 (USA).smc
nfo filename: ActRaiser 2 (USA).nfo (which I made myself)
Box art filename: ActRaiser 2 (USA).png
Fan art filename: ActRaiser 2 (USA).jpg
Video filename: ActRaiser 2 (USA).mp4

The scraper is finding other data correctly so the file structure appears to be correct.

Initial import settings: All games, Interactive: Select Matches, using a single file (downloaded the SNES.txt with parser file from here).
- Strangely the matches were not interactive. I got the exact same results using automatic: accuracy.

import settings second run: SNES, local nfo, local artwork. I earlier created an nfo file copied from the original Actraiser game which was found correctly, editing the appropriate data.

import settings third run: SNES, gamesdb, local nfo.

In no case did RCB find the game.


Questions:
- Can I force RCB to "find" specific games?
- What must I do to correctly import a game that's missing?
- In all the log files I collected, it's very hard to figure out what the scraping process is missing as I'm looking through about 1600 warnings that usually have to do with games in the database file but that I don't actually have.
- There are also the negative returns where the database file has multiple CRCs. Is it entirely dependent on a CRC check from the database file? If so, shouldn't I have the power to force a match purely on name only?
- What CRC value should I be validating is incorrect if this is the problem? I can get really long MD5 and SHA hash values for a file, but none match what's in the database file, even partially. Are rom CRCs a partial form of either or some kind of third CRC value?


I believe I've done my best to do my due diligence in checking, re-checking, and troubleshooting things. I've also tried to ask very specific leading questions that will hopefully show where I am and where I'm stuck. I'm not asking for a lot, just further information so I can continue figuring out what I'm doing incorrectly.
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-28 00:27 by Bedwyr.)
find quote
Monkee Online
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4281
(2014-07-15 10:26)malte Wrote:  
Monkee Wrote:Any chance we could get an option for a "main menu" which separates each system/consoles in the future (like Advanced Launcher)?
This is one of the most requested features in the past months. So I am quite sure it will happen. Can't promise any dates though.

Thanks Malte! One last question: which scrapers do you recommend for best results?
find quote
Post Reply