Element HTPC anyone?
Big Grin 
I'm a developer and project manager over at ElementMyPC.com and stumbled across this post via Google. we'd love to have some more XBMC fans aid us in building our open source media center os.

We are aware of many of the issues pointed out in this thread and are working hard to fix them and keep our system's development momentum building.

As for LIRC, as everyone knows this can be a pain. We are actually recommending users who have the resources to grab one of the Mini HTPC Keyboard/Touchpad remotes available through Amazon, TigerDirect, etc. Links are on our site. They allow greater functionality that a normal remote ever could and are equivalent in size.

I just wanted to say that we are paying attention to everyone's advice, and going to great strides scanning the net - hearing complaints, hearing praise, and making improvements where needed.

Our first goal with Element 1.0 through Element 1.3 is to perfect the UI and begin rolling out all our in-house software. So far we have gotten amazing feedback on our ten-foot desktop layer for XFCE. And by the way it is not Ubuntu Netbook Remix, once you use the system you'll see it is a completely different interface experience than UNR.

Thanks and hit me back at our website, forums, dev group, or by email. Depending on what's going on I may be too busy to hit up these forums as much as I would like. ;-)

http://www.elementmypc.com

We are open to suggestions and ideas, so please get on board and help us out if your interested in the system.
This looks very promising. Wish I knew more than I do about Linux.
Nvidia ShieldTV (2017)+Nexus
KevinElement Wrote:As for LIRC, as everyone knows this can be a pain. We are actually recommending users who have the resources to grab one of the Mini HTPC Keyboard/Touchpad remotes available through Amazon, TigerDirect, etc. Links are on our site. They allow greater functionality that a normal remote ever could and are equivalent in size.