Fanarts only show up in remote mode

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello,

I reported this bug before the forum crash Sad and it has gotten lost...

Right now I can't access my xbmc box but I'm a user of the T! skin (recent svn) and a Motorola Droid.

When I use the Android remote in remote mode, fanarts show up! But when I browse my music library right on the phone and pick a song, XBMC does not show the fanart. With fanart I mean the background pictures in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COgUDRZf3nY

(my xbmc installation)

I'm willing to share bug reports and logs and stuff, but right now my xbmc box is in a room without an internet connection.
Well, I thought I'd report this anyway...
find quote
the_alien Offline
Team-XBMC Android Remote Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Seems like the T! skin is starting 2 players. 1 for the music and 1 for the fanart.
Due to obvious reasons we only start playing music when you select music to play Wink

XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
the_alien Wrote:Due to obvious reasons we only start playing music when you select music to play Wink

When I select music to play in remote mode view, the song starts playing...with fanart.

When I select music to play in library mode view, the song starts playing...without fanart.

Better now? And how to fix this?
(This post was last modified: 2010-03-21 14:00 by stokedfish.)
find quote
the_alien Offline
Team-XBMC Android Remote Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
The remote works like a normal IR remote or keyboard or whatever you wanna use to send keys to XBMC.
So you select the music you wanna play and hit the "OK" button and it is as if you where just clicking enter. T! skin then starts a) the music and b) the fanart slideshow. Don't know how they do it.

The library mode is working different from our side. We get a list of what is in the library by querying the database of xbmc through the webserver (or httpapi). Playing music works the same way, we send xbmc the command to play this and that. Everything is working without ever knowing what skin you are using. So we can't "fix" a "bug" on our side that is no bug.

There is no problem from our side, sorry.

XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hm, I see. So then this is a bug in the T! skin, right?
find quote
the_alien Offline
Team-XBMC Android Remote Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Seems to be an extra feature in T!. It is no bug at all I guess.

XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I have no idea how "not showing the fanart" should be an "extra feature" of the T! skin...

I mean, isn't fanart a standard feature of XBMC? Hmmm...weird. I'll ask ronie about it. Thanks!
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
hm, i see now. check this:

ronie Wrote:if i'm correct you are talking about showing fanart for the currently playing artist, right?

this feature was added not too long ago and had several limitations in the beginning.
whether it worked properly mainly depended on how/where you started the song.
as a reference, see my trac ticket from a back then:
http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/7902

the problem with starting a song from the recently added on the home screen is that xbmc doesn't set the MusicPlayer.Property(Fanart_Image) label.
most likely a similar issue exists when using your remote in library mode.

i have no clue if it's even possible to fix either one of those, but one of the xbmc devs should be able to tell.

from: http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=509...stcount=39

so i guess the right question is: could you guys add a workaround maybe?

the android remote is an amazing idea but i'm afraid without fanart support it's completely useless Sad (well okay, except in remote mode...)
(This post was last modified: 2010-03-22 20:07 by stokedfish.)
find quote
the_alien Offline
Team-XBMC Android Remote Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Is it just a feature of the T! skin or xbmc itself? If it is just the skin we would have to check what skin is active... Plus I don't see if this is available through httpapi (which we currently use)... Plus there is much more work to do...

But feel free to add an enhancement request to our issue tracker. And maybe the setting will be available through json rpc.

XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
the_alien Wrote:Is it just a feature of the T! skin or xbmc itself?

No, fanart is a standard feature of XBMC and documented in the wiki:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Fanart

I'd love to see this supported. XBMC without fanart is like ice cream without hot fudge and a cherry on top!
find quote
the_alien Offline
Team-XBMC Android Remote Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Didn't mean the fanart but fanart slideshow when listening to music Wink
Haven't found an api for it through http. Maybe when we switch to JSRON.

XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
the_alien Wrote:Didn't mean the fanart but fanart slideshow when listening to music Wink

Aww, okay. I see, yes. As far as I know that's T! specific.

the_alien Wrote:Haven't found an api for it through http. Maybe when we switch to JSRON.

Uhm, so what is JSRON?

So I guess there's no way to fix this issue except expanding the http api, which will probably never happen...

that's quite a disappointment I must say... *sigh* Sad
find quote
StarChild Offline
Fan
Posts: 379
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #13
@stokedfish: JSON is the stuff that will replace HTTP API in the next stable release of XBMC.

XBMC Dharma 10.1, Win7 running on an ASRock ION 330HT
find quote
stokedfish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
StarChild, thanks for that info. So will I have to put a feature request for this in the bug tracker or is it already planned for JSRON anyway?
find quote
the_alien Offline
Team-XBMC Android Remote Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Already planned Smile

XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
find quote
Post Reply