HOW TO: Add items to the home screen
I think rapier is an absolutely amazing skin, and I've had a lot of fun digging into the XML a bit to add hulu desktop and WMC (for netflix) into my home screen on my media center, so I thought I'd share my process. I'm using Windows and Rapier 3.06.

While I'm no modding expert, and I know that much of this process is pretty basic as far as mods go, I think it's a good project for people wanting to start learning modding.

-----
Text Images

Before you start editing XML, you will need to create at least two, possibly three images for each new category: the focused text, the unfocused text, and the large icon for the category.

The two text versions of the home text are found in
images\homecategories\focus
with focused images being 300x96 .png files with clear backgrounds, and
images\homecategories\nofocus
with un-focused images being 300x64 .png files, also with clear backgrounds

You can look at the existing text and try to duplicate the effect (As I did with the WMC screenshot) or just make something up yourself (such as with the hulu text, which i got from the hulu website, and just added a reflection with photoshop.)

--------
Icon

If you want a custom icon for your entry, there is a more involved process. the existing home screen icons are in a .xpr file, which can be edited with XPR express (http://www.teamblackbolt.co.uk/projdetails.php?id=5). the icons are 256x256 .pngs, also with transparent backgrounds.

XPR express is a pretty straightforward tool - on the extract tab, simply browse to \media\textures.xpr, and extract it to the directory of your choice. The other home screen icons have names such as home-tvshows-icon.png

After you have added your new icon, make sure you have a backup of textures.xpr, then use the compress tab to select the directory you extracted the files to, and save it again to the \media\textures.xpr. Remember the name of the images you saved - you'll need them again.

-----
Batch files