How to isnatll skin on new xbmc (nighly build) ?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
tibey Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I was previously using t! svn version with xbmc 9.11 without any problem, i just upgraded to xbmc r29791 and i don't have any clue how to install the skin...tried to rename the folder "skin.transparency" in addons folder...nothing...can somebody give me a hand ?
(This post was last modified: 2010-05-06 21:16 by tibey.)
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,314
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Post: #2
tibey Wrote:I was previously using t! svn version with xbmc 9.11 without any problem, i just upgraded to xbmc r29791 and i don't have any clue how to install the skin...tried to rename the folder "skin.transparency" in addons folder...nothing...can somebody give me a hand ?

that's all correct...however things change very rapidly in the xbmc trunk.
you now need xbmc r29814 or up in order to run T! svn.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
tibey Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Ok thanks, i downgraded to rev 329 for the moment since i can't find win32 build up to r29791, it's working fine.
find quote
Sarpeidon1701 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
hello,

Im the same problem to you.

How to downgraded the skin to rev 329 witch Tortoise ?
find quote
itssuresh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Sarpeidon1701 Wrote:hello,

Im the same problem to you.

How to downgraded the skin to rev 329 witch Tortoise ?


Right clik on Transparency! skin folder
From the context menu select TortoiseSVN --> Update to revison

From the Revision window select Revision and enter 329 and hit Enter

Thanks
Suresh
find quote
thesoulhacker Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Struggling with the latest build r30020 and T!
How do you actually install the skin in the new builds?

I tried copying the folder in the addons folder, not working.
Tried renaming the folder skin.transparency, not working. Not even displaying in the skin addons list

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,314
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Post: #7
thesoulhacker Wrote:Struggling with the latest build r30020 and T!
How do you actually install the skin in the new builds?

I tried copying the folder in the addons folder, not working.
Tried renaming the folder skin.transparency, not working. Not even displaying in the skin addons list

both are correct...

thesoulhacker Wrote:Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

are you also using the svn version of Transparency!?

if you do and it's still not working enable debug logging and restart xbmc.
check the log file for any addon error messages.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2010-05-12 11:20 by ronie.)
find quote
meanstreak Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Strange. what Shouldn't be working then with an older build of XBMC?

I am running XBMX windows DX r29791 and T! SVN (revision 347) and it all seems fine here. Just wondering what shouldn't be working so I can check it out.

Brent
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,314
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Post: #9
i've removed skin.xml in the root of the skin folder as i don't think it's required anymore for xbmc r29814 or up.

r29791 would still need this file to be able to use the skin.

so...strange indeed.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
meanstreak Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
ah...

I copied the latest SVN's over the old ones (that I had in my addons dir) so skins.xml exists there for me
find quote
bobrap Offline
Fan
Posts: 492
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Tennessee
Post: #11
Have I got this right? Using build XBMCSetup-Rev30020-dx, and a svn checkout from http://transparency-xbmc.googlecode.com/svn/trunk. Create folder skin.transparency and copy all svn files to it. When I do that I just have a black screen with white text. Obviously, I'm not holding my mouth right.Confused
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,314
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Post: #12
bobrap Wrote:Have I got this right? Using build XBMCSetup-Rev30020-dx, and a svn checkout from http://transparency-xbmc.googlecode.com/svn/trunk. Create folder skin.transparency and copy all svn files to it. When I do that I just have a black screen with white text. Obviously, I'm not holding my mouth right.Confused

yup that's all right, as long as you created the skin.transparency folder inside your addons directory.

maybe the svn checkout didn't complete correctly ?

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
bobrap Offline
Fan
Posts: 492
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Tennessee
Post: #13
OK, I'll try that again.

Tried again and I believe the problem lies in the build I'm using. I cannot get any graphics, posters, etc to display in any skin. Guess I'll wait till next build or go back and play it safe.Laugh
(This post was last modified: 2010-05-12 16:30 by bobrap.)
find quote
dondre Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Earth
Wink   
Post: #14
tibey Wrote:Ok thanks, i downgraded to rev 329 for the moment since i can't find win32 build up to r29791, it's working fine.

http://sshcs.com/xbmc/

enjoy most builds flavors, win32/linux/macosx either DX/GL up to r30020

Cheers! Cool

[XBMC-DX r31103 T! r455]
.:LAPTOP:. Dell [C2D E6400] [8G DDR2] [Intel X4500HD] [LED 14'' 1280*800@60p]
.:NAS:. Antec [Ci7 920] [12G DDR3] [Matrox m9148] [19.4 TiB] [Triple Samsung 22'' 5040*1050@60p]
.:HTPC:. Antec [C2 Q9400] [6G DDR2] [nv GT240 VP4] [SB X-FI Ti] [Toshiba 46'' 1920*1080@24p] [Logitech Z5K5]
find quote
Athanatos875 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
bobrap Wrote:Have I got this right? Using build XBMCSetup-Rev30020-dx, and a svn checkout from http://transparency-xbmc.googlecode.com/svn/trunk. Create folder skin.transparency and copy all svn files to it. When I do that I just have a black screen with white text. Obviously, I'm not holding my mouth right.Confused

Same issue here! I installed a fresh copy of the latest nightly build and placed the recent version of Transparency! in my addons/skin.transparency folder. I successfully changed to the skin and all I can see is a black screen with white text. There is no cursor or anything. Did I do something wrong? Or did the new build mess something up? Can anyone else confirm this?

Edit: Noob alert: I also noticed that the addons manager is not there. Has it even been released in a build yet?
(This post was last modified: 2010-05-12 21:05 by Athanatos875.)
find quote
Post Reply