XBMC Live "Error: Function not implemented"
Hi All,

I have been a long time XBMC fan and user via a number of modified original Xbox's over the years. In this time, I have never had any problems with streaming audio/video etc. from Network Shares on my PC (SMB via XP Pro and now Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit). With the purchase of a new TV, I decided to look into taking advantage of 1080p video, and knowing that the original Xbox's had issues with this type of content, decided to go down the HTPC path. As such, I have just purchased a Zotac MAG, and absolutely love it. Unfortunately, I have a problem...

Being a linux noob, I decided rather than install Ubuntu and then XBMC for Linux, to download the XBMC Live (v.9.11) and uNetbootin USB installer. I have done this, installed XBMC Live off the USB, and it is running beautifully (Confluence Skin as default). Unfortunately, I cannot seem to get the system to access Network Shares on my Windows 7 Ultimate machine. This is despite the fact that my existing Original Xbox has no problem accessing the same Network Shares. When I add a new source, and browse to my Workgroup, I can see my PC, however when I select it I get a "Error: Function not implemented" notification.

I have done some research here and on other sites and have tried absolutely everything suggested, but unfortunately I still cannot get my XBMC Live to access my Network Shares.

Things I have tried:

1. Looked into un-installing Windows Live Sign-In Assistant, however it is not currently installed on my system anyway, and considering I am running 32bit I dont believe this to have any impact

2. Turned off Windows Firewall, and made sure all Shared Folders are shared to 'Everyone' with read and write permissions