Xbox to HTPC Questions
So I've been using my old xbox as a media pc for a good 6 years now and I love it. Unfortunately it has taken a turn for the worse and it seems as though it's dying Sad Instead of trying to repair it, I plan on backing up everything I have on it and transferring it to a media pc/external drive. I'm planning on using this tutorial: http://lifehacker.com/5391308/build-a-si...-the-cheap

What I loved about my xbox was that I could unhook two cables and bring it along to my friends/girlfriend's house. These are nice and small and only need two cables, HDMI and power, so that works there. Thing is, I have a lot of media. Way more than the 160Gb that the Acer Aspire Revo has. Unfortunately I won't be able to bring everything I have with me, unless I bring an external hard drive or upgrade the internal hard drive. I have a 1Tb hard drive installed in the xbox so what I'm thinking about doing is backing up my media, reformatting my hard drive, inserting it into an external enclosure, and using that as USB extra storage.

Will this all work? Will a 1Tb external work ok with the Revo? I'm also planning on upgrading the RAM. Any tips or suggestions? Thanks in advance.
upgrading the RAM (or for that matter, any internal components) is a bit tricky as acer designed the case to not be opened anymore by the customer. I managed to switch the hard disk to a fast one (which has a huge impact on system performance!) but the case has some scratches now, was a pain in the ass

apart from that, your plan might just work!
OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sony 55" X85C Android TV (also with Kodi!)
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
Kodi on Sony Bravia Android TVs