[LINUX][MAC] Frontend required
Hello,

I've been running xbmc and mythtv for a couple of years now and its been great. Now its time to move the huge media center box somewhere else and run a smaller frontend box.

I wanted to go with the appleTV because its small and should do the trick?
But since red dead redemption came out i want an xbox (supposed to be better on xbox than ps3) so maybe i could use the xbox instead? I'm kinda anti MS though which is why i haven't purchased an xbox.

Are there any other ideas, i've seen those zotac boxes they look pretty cool, i don't really have access to that gear locally though.

Any help on this would be appreciated any comments on people using appletv boxes or other frontends would be great.

thank you.
Not my opinion:

XBox360's don't run XBMC

My opinion:

Both Xbox 360 and PS3s make terrible media frontends.

I think my ION box wipes the floor with my Broadcom- accelerated Apple TV. An AppleTV has plenty of enough CPU, but its lack of RAM and the Broadcom's more strict limits (than the ION) make it way inferior.

One last note though- ION boxes aren't the best with de-interlacing content in MythTV. You might want to wait for ION2 boxes that have twice the shaders (which means hopefully better de-interlacing support).
xbmcn00b Wrote:Hello,

I've been running xbmc and mythtv for a couple of years now and its been great.

What's the primary difference between the two?

I just want to build a HTPC Linux machine (Ubuntu) that will play BluRay and 1080p Video and need to use a sound card that does 7.1 RCA out for HD uncompressed sound feeds into my preamp (don't have HDMI ins for sound on it). I was looking at the Azuntech card...dunno if it's a good choice with this system, etc.

Any suggestions?
i run xbmc for music and movies and mythv for live tv so i can pause etc. but i play the recordings through xbmc.