XBMC - Use local fanart for music

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello,

i am Trying to create my own fanart for 2 two days, but without success.
I read a lot of threads but i found nothing. I hope you can help me.

I proceed as follows:

1. I download a *.jpg from google
2. I renamed it in fanart.jpg or fanart.tbn or <album>-fanart.jpg
3. I copied the fanart-file in the album-folder
4. Nothing happens in xbmc

In the next step, I tried to configure the XBMC manually. To load
my own cover manually, is easy and successfully (I right click
on a Cover in XBMC, click "Albuminformation" and load it). But the
"load fanart"-Button is disabled, so I can't load it.

I need help please.


ps: I am sorry for mistakes, but english is not my mother tongue...


Kind Regards

fpk35
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 808
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #2
the folder structure is like this:
Artist Folder (there goes your fanart.jpg and folder.jpg for artist/band picture) -> Album folders (with folder.jpg for album cover, no need for fanart here)
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
thanks for your answer!

ok, that means for example:

there is a folder called: "NAS - Lost Tapes"
Here I have to copy the "folder.jpg" for my Cover?

Where can I find the Artist-folder?
Is there a folder called "NAS" in the XBMC-Structure where
I have to copy the "fanart.jpg"? When yes, where can I find
this folder?
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 808
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #4
no, you should create a folder called "Nas" and inside you should store all the album of the artist Nas and there you can drop the fanart.jpg and folder.jpg.

See here an example from my music library structure: http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/3659/clipboard01qg.jpg
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Good morning,

it doesn't work. I Create a folder called "NAS" there I put in
the folder "Lost Tapes" which contains the tracks of the album.
In the folder "NAS" I copied the folder.jpg(cover) and the
fanart.jpg.

Is it possible that there is a worng configuration in my XBMC?
...I enable Fanart.

Or is there any trouble with my XBMC-skin(standart-skin of the
newest version 9.11 calles "Confluence")
find quote
YodaEXE Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Does music even support Fanart? It might be a skin specific issue. That might be why you aren't getting the fanart to show.
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 808
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #7
fpk35 Wrote:Good morning,

it doesn't work. I Create a folder called "NAS" there I put in
the folder "Lost Tapes" which contains the tracks of the album.
In the folder "NAS" I copied the folder.jpg(cover) and the
fanart.jpg.

Is it possible that there is a worng configuration in my XBMC?
...I enable Fanart.

Or is there any trouble with my XBMC-skin(standart-skin of the
newest version 9.11 calles "Confluence")

It works. Seems like you're not in Library mode, but in Files Mode, Choose Library and then you can see your fanart, like in this picture
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I can see fanart, but not my own.

when I change my folderstructure the way you said, it doesn't look
like your snapshot. In your snapshot are only the albums of one
artist, in my XBMC the folders are still in the same folder as the
other artists althuogh I changed the structre!

And yes, I am in Libary mode...



Edit:

I found somthing strange, when I copy a file called "Nas - Lost Tapes-fanart.jpg" in the folder where being all other folders,
the folder "NAS - Lost Tapes" get these fanart. I tried to make that on an album that already has a fanart, this doesen't work.



2. Edit:

If I i make a fanart of an album wich hasn't a fanart before it works (Only with "NAS - Lost Tapes-fanart.jpg" but it works).
And then I am going to change it again it doesn't work. someting is there really wrong but I don't no why?? :-)
(This post was last modified: 2010-06-26 13:36 by fpk35.)
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 808
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #9
You're doing it wrong.
Quote:Nas - Lost Tapes-fanart.jpg
why name it like this when the convention is "fanart.jpg"? Store a fanart.jpg in every artist folder.
After you do that, to refresh the fanart, you might have to press "i" and reselect fanart (or refresh info) to force xbmc to see the changes you made.
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I do it first like you said -> fanart.jpg - but it doesn't work.
and after that I tried it with "NAS - Lost Tapes-fanart.jpg".

Know it so:

NAS
...|--Lost Tapes
...|........|----Hello.mp3
...|........|----Bye.mp3
...|........|----folder.jpg
...|--folder.jpg
...|--fanart.jpg

I press "i" in Libarymode a new window cames (Get Fanart-Button is
disabled) and it doesn't work...Neverless, thanks for your help!



Edit:

Is it possible that it has something to with Windows 7?
(This post was last modified: 2010-06-27 10:04 by fpk35.)
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
YodaEXE Wrote:Does music even support Fanart? It might be a skin specific issue. That might be why you aren't getting the fanart to show.

Thanks for your anwer, but I think sergiocos uses the same skin as me.

@ sergiocos: Which skin are you using for XBMC?



Edit: Please also see my post #10
(This post was last modified: 2010-06-27 11:54 by fpk35.)
find quote
sho Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 4,128
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #12
Refresh the artist with fanart.jpg in the artist folder.
Alternatively do "Get fanart" in case your cached images are all jumbled up due to your testing.

Both from the artist information window

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
sho Wrote:Refresh the artist with fanart.jpg in the artist folder.
Alternatively do "Get fanart" in case your cached images are all jumbled up due to your testing.

Both from the artist information window

What do you mean with refreshing the artistfolder? Refreshing over
the button "refresh database"? I did this after every change i do.

The problem ist that the button "get fanart" in the artist infomation is disabled,
I can't click it.

[Image: xbmc.jpg]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Edit: OK, i refreshed also over the artist infomation, nothing happens...
(This post was last modified: 2010-06-27 13:46 by fpk35.)
find quote
sho Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 4,128
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #14
I have no idea what the "refresh database" button is, but my limited German knowledge would suggest "Aktualisiering"
Are you in library mode and have you scanned your music to the library?
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Music_Library

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
fpk35 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Sorry, know I changed my language...

I mean this Button:

[Image: xbmc2.jpg]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

...,yes I scan my music to libary:

[Image: xbmc3.jpg]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
find quote
Post Reply