[RELEASE] KaraokePlay (Video) Plugin - Karaoke addon that scrapes karaokeplay.com

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Dagur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  [RELEASE] KaraokePlay (Video) Plugin - Karaoke addon that scrapes karaokeplay.com
Post: #1
Ok technically my second, but this one is good enough to share (I hope).

So I've created a plugin that scrapes karaokeplay.com. All their content is hosted on youtube so I only had to find the youtube url and then use the YoutubeClient.pyo module from the Youtube plugin to display it.


I've wanted an extension like this for a long time now but since karaokeplay.com isn't that great I challenge anyone to make something better.

Please let me know what you think Smile

http://mfi.re/?1nli1tj1jkjojne Edit november 22nd: For dharma use http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42318/karaokeplay.zip


Edit: I also put the code on pastebin for those who are hesitant about downloading a zip file from a file sharing site. http://pastebin.com/S2g4kaKa

To run it you need BeautifulSoup and YoutubeClient.pyo
(This post was last modified: 2010-11-22 20:23 by Dagur.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,671
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #2
Nice work. Note that the youtube plugin in the addons repository doesn't require a .pyo.

You'll want to set it up to work with the addons system now.

If you do up Beautifulsoup as a python module for the addons repo we'll get that in as well.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Dagur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Sorry, but I'm not sure I understand what you mean. How do I set it up to work with the addons system?
find quote
lyssagale12 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Hello,

Hey...guys...I have bought karaoke mic for an singing competition as i m preparing for that hardly so know it would be work worthy for my performance.


Thanks
find quote
Dagur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
If you are asking if it's usable then you just need to download it and try. Smile
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #6
jmarshall do not tell people it's ok to use the client module without telling them to get their own app and client id.

dagur use the py, but get your own app and client id.

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
find quote
Dagur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I'm sorry but I don't know what either of you is talking about. If I google "xbmc client id" I get this thread Confused
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #8
it's a youtube id. check the top of the .py file.

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
find quote
topfs2 Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,962
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 9
Post: #9
Its an addon, so I would guess it should be possible to just depend on the youtube addon and start playback with a plugin url which points to the youtube addon and the youtube flick.

If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
find quote
Dagur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Updated for Dharma (no unnecessary libraries this time):

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42318/karaokeplay.zip
find quote
Johnnyfive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 4
Location: Strasbourg, France
Post: #11
Fanastic!
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 881
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 22
Post: #12
Guys, I just stumbled upon this and it is AWESOME.

Anyway this can work with Boxee so my mother-in-law can use it?? (I got her a boxee for Christmas :-)

Thanks
find quote
Dagur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Thanks!

I have no idea whether it works on Boxee but if it's based on XBMC I can't see why not. Just try it Smile
find quote
Icarus3000 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
How do you get sound into XBMC through the microphone in Windows 7? I have a microphone hooked up to my PC, but when in XBMC no sound from the microphone
find quote
rflores2323 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,918
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #15
can this work on an atv2 somehow? how can I connect a microphone to an atv2? is there anyway to do this to get this working?

ATV1 with crystalbuntu (12.2 frodo) as main theater. Theater remote URC MX-810, droidx with xbmc remote, or transformer tf101 with YATSE. 3 x ATV2 (V12.2 frodo).

find quote
Post Reply