[MAC] 1080p...too much for my Mac Mini?
Hey there, I've been using XBMC for around 2 years and love it. I've only ever had SD content on it, but my Blu Ray collection has started to grow and I'm considering putting my HD content on XBMC.

I'm after a bit of help. Initially, I'm not sure whether my Mac Mini can handle it? If it's not, I'm also keen to learn what the best route would be for me to go in order to play my HD content - the constraint being I've not really got a huge amount of money to go spunking on a shiny new Mac.

Before I start spending any money (I'd need a Blu Ray drive to start with!), I wanted to do a test to prove my mac can handle it. I've got hold of a blu ray rip of Avatar from my Usenet-using bro. It is a little bit laggy to the point where the audio gets out of sync so having failed the first test, I'm after some help from you guys to see if it is at all possible with my current hardware.

My set up:
All my media is stored on a 10TB server running Windows 7, the server and the mac are wired. The rest of the network is gigabit, but the Mac Mini isn't. The Mac Mini is connected to an Onkyo TX-SR674 which sources a Panasonic TH42PX70. Whether this is relevant or not I don't know, but the more info the better I guess!

Mac specs (taken from about this Mac):
Processor: Intel Core Duo 1.66 GHz
Memory: 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
System Version: Mac OS X 10.6.4
Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz

The video I'm testing: Avatar.2009.1080p.BluRay.X264-AMIABLE
Size: 10.9gb
Video: 1920x1080 (X264 @ 23.976fps)
Bitrate: ~8171kbps
Audio: DTS 1509kbps

So my questions...
  1. In theory is my Mac just not powerful enough?
  2. Could there be a bottleneck elsewhere in my set up? As in could my server contribute to the lag or is it most likely to be the Mac? (I appreciate that's a finger in the air question but just a thought)
  3. Are there any improvements I can make simply by changing configuration settings on the Mac or within XBMC?