CApplication::Create() failed

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Echild Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
ok so I previously had XBMC working...

but i uninstalled it and reinstalled it and now everytime I try to open it I get the following error

CApplication::Create() failed - check log file and that it is writeable

here is my log file

21:29:58 T:31280 M:848687104 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848728064 NOTICE: Starting XBMC, Platform: Windows Server 2008, 64-bit (WoW) Service Pack 2 build 6002. Built on Jul 15 2010 (SVN:31827, compiler 1500)
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848736256 NOTICE: AMD Athlon™ II X2 250 Processor
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848723968 NOTICE: Desktop Resolution: 1920x1080 16Bit at 60Hz
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848736256 NOTICE: Running with administrator rights
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848715776 NOTICE: special://xbmc/ is mapped to: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848711680 NOTICE: special://xbmcbin/ is mapped to: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848646144 NOTICE: special://masterprofile/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848646144 NOTICE: special://home/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\XBMC
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848646144 NOTICE: special://temp/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\cache
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848646144 NOTICE: The executable running is: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848642048 NOTICE: Log File is located: C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\xbmc.log
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848642048 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
21:29:58 T:31280 M:848543744 NOTICE: Setup SDL
21:29:58 T:31280 M:876392448 NOTICE: Found screen: Dummy Monitor on RDPDD Chained DD, adapter 0.
21:29:58 T:31280 M:876384256 NOTICE: Primary mode: 1920x1080 @ 60.00 - Full Screen
21:29:58 T:31280 M:876359680 NOTICE: load settings...
21:29:58 T:31280 M:875724800 NOTICE: special://profile/ is mapped to: special://masterprofile/
21:29:58 T:31280 M:875700224 NOTICE: loading special://masterprofile/guisettings.xml
21:29:58 T:31280 M:875683840 ERROR: special://masterprofile/guisettings.xml, Line 0
Failed to open file
21:29:58 T:31280 M:875614208 ERROR: Unable to load special://masterprofile/guisettings.xml, creating new special://masterprofile/guisettings.xml with default values
21:29:58 T:31280 M:875610112 ERROR: XFILE::CFile::Delete - Error deleting file C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\guisettings.xml
21:29:58 T:31280 M:875597824 ERROR: XFILE::CFile::Delete - Error deleting file special://masterprofile/guisettings.xml
21:29:58 T:31280 M:874065920 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
21:29:58 T:31280 M:874078208 NOTICE: Checking resolution 12
21:29:58 T:31280 M:874078208 NOTICE: Loading player core factory settings from special://xbmc/system/playercorefactory.xml.
21:29:58 T:31280 M:874037248 NOTICE: Loaded playercorefactory configuration
21:29:58 T:31280 M:874000384 NOTICE: Loading player core factory settings from special://masterprofile/playercorefactory.xml.
21:29:58 T:31280 M:873992192 NOTICE: special://masterprofile/playercorefactory.xml does not exist. Skipping.
21:29:58 T:31280 M:873959424 NOTICE: No advancedsettings.xml to load (special://masterprofile/advancedsettings.xml)
21:29:58 T:31280 M:873938944 NOTICE: Default DVD Player: dvdplayer
21:29:58 T:31280 M:873938944 NOTICE: Default Video Player: dvdplayer
21:29:58 T:31280 M:873938944 NOTICE: Default Audio Player: paplayer
21:29:58 T:31280 M:873836544 NOTICE: Loading media sources from special://masterprofile/sources.xml
21:30:08 T:31280 M:907202560 WARNING: ADDON: cpluff: 'Not all directories were successfully scanned.'
21:30:10 T:31280 M:919584768 WARNING: CRenderSystemDX::CreateDevice - initial wanted device config failed
21:30:10 T:31280 M:918982656 FATAL: CApplication::Create: Unable to init rendering system


Is anyone able to help me! I have been trying for a week to find the answer

Thanks in Advance
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #2
Try the most recent Dharma build from http://mirrors.xbmc.org/nightlies/win32/.

It may be unrelated but someone else recently had the same error and it turned out to be related to the video chipset they were using (Intel 915GMA I think). A subsequent build fixed the crash.

JR
find quote
Brad P Offline
Donor
Posts: 190
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I _may_ have had that error awhile back. Is your DirectX enabled? Check dxdiag to make sure.
find quote
CrystalP Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 18
Location: The Great North
Post: #4
Releases after the one you tried include fixes, but I think the issue is that you're running your desktop in 16bits. XBMC requires 32bits (true color).
And you're running remotely? Is that a WHS?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ, Wiki and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Echild Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
- I have tried all builds including the latest... but that didn't work still the same error
- I will check the direct X whenI get home from work, thanks.
- and yes I am installing it oh WHS which is connected to my LCD in the lounge room. I was using Remote desktop to set it up when I posted as it has a keyboard and mouse.
find quote
RandomXBMCUser Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
One reason it crashes like this is when a script crashes, &/or you have hidden cmd.exe or other certain system processes running. Check the task manager and try removing all cmd.exe instances and other un-neccessary processes one by one and see if that fixes the problem.
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #7
I believe the problem is trying to do it over remote desktop.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
Handa Offline
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Use RealVNC, works fine running XBMC so I don't have to sit in front of my 50".
find quote
Echild Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Thanks for all your help. I just uninstalled the version and reinstalled the latested. and didnt use remote desktop and all is good now.
find quote
steve1977 Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,800
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Having the same problem. I cannot start XBMC when connected over Remote Desktop. My HTPC doesn't have a keyboard and mouse connected to it. Running Win7 and connecting from another Win7 over Remote Desktop.

Is there any solution or is it just not working?

Server: Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel Core i5 3.4 GHz | 12 GB DDR3 | 256 GB SSD, 40 TB (1 x 4 TB, 6 x 3TB, 9 x 2 TB)
HTPC 1: Apple Mac Mini (mid-2011) | Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz | 4GB DDR3 | 500 GB
HTPC 2: Apple Mac Mini (mid-2007) | Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz | 4 GB DDR2 | 16 GB SSD
find quote
silentbob343 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Just ran in to this issue using RDP, but I have been using XBMC remotely for sometime and never had this error.

32bit is enabled in the remote desktop client.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-26 10:48 by silentbob343.)
find quote
wdac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
i got the same problem with RDP, was going to remote some setings from work for XBMC Remote Android App, but no luck this time.. have to wait iam home.
find quote
Wibs Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I have the exact same problem.

I have a full 32 bit server (running Windows Web Server 2008, Service Pack 1, Build 6001) which I connect to using Remote Desktop. When I install xbmc then try to launch it I also get the CApplication::Create() failed error.

I have tried running the Remote Desktop in /admin mode, but with no success.

I uninstalled, downloaded and installed the latest nightly Dharma build, xbmc-r35567-Dharma_rc2, but still no joy, and checked that DirectX was installed and running, it was, V10.

It seems clear that this is a Remote Desktop problem (and hence the lack of any guidance here), but I must say that in over 1 year of using my Server this is the first application that has failed to install.

I really hope someone comes up with a fix or workaround for this, as I really need xbmc on that machine.

Wibs
(This post was last modified: 2011-02-11 20:17 by Wibs.)
find quote
Speedwrench Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I am having the same error trying to run xmbc on my laptop with a fresh install of windows7 32bit with all the latest updates. The system has the NVidia chipset and a Intel centrino duo processor. I am not running remote desktop.
find quote
Speedwrench Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
I figured out my problem......it was the generic PNP windows 7 video display driver causing th eCApplication::Create() failed error .
I went to Nvidia and downloaded latest driver for my video adapter for windows 7 , rebooted and now XMBC works.
find quote
Post Reply