Quick Question about XBMC Live and Night and Skins
I was wondering what is the main difference between these two builds? I'm new to the xbmc game and was trying to get some skins set up. However when I installed the aeon skin to xbmc live via sftp, the fonts on the main page were a bit too huge. It's like the words were cramped on each other.

Do I need to install a nightly build to use skins or do I have to do some extra configuration in Live to get it to work properly?

Also, I had removed a skin while it was active because it kept crashing. Now when I boot in takes me directly to sudo command screen. How can I reinstall the confluence skin via sudo commands?

The little time I experienced with xbmc was awesome and I would love to get it back and running sometime this week. Laugh
First off, Welcome...

Now down to business....

Since you are using XBMC-Live, to fix the skin problem(though this might not fix the loading problem) enter the following on the command line:

cd /home/xbmc/.xbmc/userdata

sudo nano guisettings.xml

this will open the file the controls which skin(and a lot of other GUI settings) in a text editor. Look for something that looks like this:
Code:
<lookandfeel>
        <enablerssfeeds>true</enablerssfeeds>
        <font>Default</font>
        <rssedit></rssedit>
        <skin>Aeon</skin>
        <skincolors>SKINDEFAULT</skincolors>
        <skintheme>SKINDEFAULT</skintheme>
        <skinzoom>0</skinzoom>
        <soundskin>SKINDEFAULT</soundskin>
        <startupwindow>10000</startupwindow>
    </lookandfeel>

Though Change the <skin>Aeon</skin> to <skin>Confluence</skin> (I might be wrong on the capital C in Confluence - I believe I am correct though)

Then press Ctrl-X and save the file.

type:
sudo service xbmc-live start

and hopefully you are off to the races...

If you see the following message:
start: Job is already running: xbmc-live

Try:
sudo service xbmc-live stop

then:
sudo service xbmc-live start