AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS

  Thread Rating:
  • 15 Votes - 4.47 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
cdhesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1141
Question... I've read through this thread, where gnif says AE always uses AE_FMT_FLOAT until the end when it is converted to what is supported. My question is, the "supported" statement, does this refer to only the video card (HDMI), or a combination of the video/sound card PLUS the connected device at the other end of the HDMI?

I noticed in the code...

* @note This is ordered from the worst to best preferred formats
*/
enum AEDataFormat
{
AE_FMT_INVALID = -1,

AE_FMT_U8,
AE_FMT_S8,

AE_FMT_S16BE,
AE_FMT_S16LE,
AE_FMT_S16NE,

AE_FMT_S32BE,
AE_FMT_S32LE,
AE_FMT_S32NE,

AE_FMT_S24BE4,
AE_FMT_S24LE4,
AE_FMT_S24NE4, /* S24 in 4 bytes */

AE_FMT_S24BE3,
AE_FMT_S24LE3,
AE_FMT_S24NE3, /* S24 in 3 bytes */

AE_FMT_DOUBLE,
AE_FMT_FLOAT,

/* Bitstream formats */
AE_FMT_AC3,
AE_FMT_DTS,
AE_FMT_EAC3,
AE_FMT_TRUEHD,
AE_FMT_DTSHD,

AE_FMT_MAX

Are there certain cards that will do AE_FMT_FLOAT, thus resulting in one less audio conversion?

Thanks!
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1142
It will look at the formats supported by the audio device selected in System>Audio Output where the driver is listed.

Yes, if your device supports float there is one less conversion. Some of the Creative cards support float, as do other higher-end soundcards, but most GPU HDMI ports support integer only, whether 16bit (AE_FMT_S16xx) or 24bit packed into 32bit structures (AE_FMT_S24xx4)

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
cdhesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1143
Thanks!

So is 32xx better than the 24xx versions? Does this have any audible impact?
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1144
Heh that's gonna foster arguements lol. But both mathmatically, scientifically and actual content-wise, no, there is no audible difference between the 32 and 24-bit acoustics. Many will argue 16-bit is all you'll ever need. But I hear very audible differences between 16-bit up to about 20-bit. The last bit of 24-bit audio is almost certainly "lost" in the electrical noise of single resistors. So 24-bit really does push the edge in every way.

Don't forget each bit doubles the available data, so the difference between 16-bit and 17-bit is huge. But the difference between 24-bit and 32-bit, while mathematically gigantic is for audible purposes zero.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
EGOvoruhk Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #1145
(2012-04-02 03:34)DDDamian Wrote:  But I hear very audible differences between 16-bit up to about 20-bit

You're either hearing elements added by the system, and not the source, or you were born with a "deffect" that enables you to hear more than a normal human can

http://www.aes.org/e-lib/browse.cfm?elib=14195
http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

That seems to be the "go to" for the current HD audio argument, and it makes a hell of a lot of sense. You can't really deny those results, especially factoring in who took them, and the hardware they were taken with
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1146
Yeah, I've read all the studies lol. And I knew someone would pipe up, Guess the AudioEngine branch isn't for you rofl.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
EGOvoruhk Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #1147
(2012-04-06 01:04)DDDamian Wrote:  Yeah, I've read all the studies lol. And I knew someone would pipe up, Guess the AudioEngine branch isn't for you rofl.

I'll still prefer using it to bitstream my Blu-rays, because even though it's now a waste of space, the lossless audio is going to obviously sound better than a lossy DTS track. But when it comes to making my own rips, I'll be encoding the DTS-HD/TrueHD to 16-bit/48kHz FLAC

In response to the article, I was internally torn up when reading it. On one side I was happy that I could save space in regards to audio, but it was also kind of a bummer knowing that we're both a.) our limit in what we can hear is so "low" and b.) that studios are trying to act as if we aren't as limited. Though I guess that last one shouldn't come as a total surprise. I'm sure they'll be even another audio spec down the road they'll claim we need Laugh
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1148
Just follow your ears, not the studies. If it is placebo me and my dog are both enjoying it immensely Smile

And that new spec is DXD (32bit, 384kbps) - even I'm calling overkill on that lol

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-07 01:56 by DDDamian.)
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1149
AudioEngine is a complete re-write of core XBMC audio. It is a full install, not a plugin. It's most likely either the driver or a setting in the driver for your USB DAC.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #1150
No matter what OS you are on it is NOT okay to post a support request in a forum that clearly states that it is not for end user support in a thread that states explicitly in its title that your request will not be tolerated. FFS
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,573
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 166
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #1151
(2012-04-08 11:14)Nemrod Wrote:  Of course it is important, someone took time trying to help me ...

not for end user support!

Edit:
Removed your posts because they don't belong here. Go ask in general help and support section

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-08 12:16 by Martijn.)
find quote
rabsid3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1152
hi guys,
what is the latest git version with working passthrough? I'd like to try it on my ubuntu machine.
thx
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-08 22:07 by rabsid3.)
find quote
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1153
(2012-04-08 00:40)spiff Wrote:  No matter what OS you are on it is NOT okay to post a support request in a forum that clearly states that it is not for end user support in a thread that states explicitly in its title that your request will not be tolerated. FFS

(2012-04-08 12:03)Martijn Wrote:  not for end user support!

Edit:
Removed your posts because they don't belong here. Go ask in general help and support section

I have started a Linux thread here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1070552
The Windows thread is here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=124600

Mods, in order to keep this thread clean perhaps the first post can be updated to reflect these two other threads. Hopefully erhnam won't mind.

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #1154
(2012-04-01 19:20)cdhesse Wrote:  Are there certain cards that will do AE_FMT_FLOAT, thus resulting in one less audio conversion?
Yes that is correct.

For those interested, over the last day a heap of fixes have gone in to correct pass-through issues, such as:

* random crashing
* choppy/stuttering output on some DTS files
* buffer overflow bug causing a sync calculation issue
* 2.0 streams will no longer be encoded to AC3

A patch from DDDamian has also been merged that should fix things somewhat under windows.

We expect to have AE merged into master very soon as we gear up for peer review and then merge.

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
cdhesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1155
Hi gnif,

DTS-HD (or anything else passthrough) still doesn't work for me.

I've tried HDMI, and custom hw:0,9 as well as hdmi:NVidia for passthrough but always get this error. The applicable part of the log looks to me to be:

14:37:40 T:140249841436416 INFO: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - Attempting to open device hdmi,AES0=0x06,AES1=0x82,AES2=0x00,AES3=0x0e
14:37:40 T:140249841436416 ERROR: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - snd_pcm_open_lconf(-2) - hdmi,AES0=0x06,AES1=0x82,AES2=0x00,AES3=0x0e
14:37:40 T:140249841436416 ERROR: CAESinkOSS::Initialize - Failed to get supported formats, assuming AFMT_S16_NE

Full log can be found at http://pastebin.com/ekSTZy5R

I hope this is a bug and not something I'm doing wrong...
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-11 05:31 by cdhesse.)
find quote
Post Reply