AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS

  Thread Rating:
  • 15 Votes - 4.47 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1171
gnif:

My previous passthrough issues are resolved. AirPlay will still lock XBMC, however. If you don't have iTunes installed/don't wish to install iTunes let me know and I'll start digging into the code (which I've been meaning to do for weeks but...). I just feel this may need resolved before a master merge since AirPlay was one of Eden's touted new features.

Full Log:
http://pastebin.com/XzkQAsJp

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,142
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #1172
i think i have a fix for this ready in some mins... yep - PR send to gnif...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-14 02:25 by Memphiz.)
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1173
All the heavery-hitters are starting to weigh in Wink

Glad you guys are helping out.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1174
(2012-04-14 02:19)Memphiz Wrote:  i think i have a fix for this ready in some mins... yep - PR send to gnif...

Works great. Thanks.

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
find quote
grote002 Offline
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #1175
(2012-04-13 01:22)gnif Wrote:  @grote002 - this is unrelated to AE, seems like you need to perform a distclean on the source as the configure that has been generated for libblueray is invalid.

I managed to fix it with the install of the latest libbluray

But now when i play a DTS HD MA video (i tried bluray and demos from trailerz.demo-world.eu),the video plays without problem and DTS HD MA shows up on my receiver, but the logo keeps flikkering on/off like it cant find a lock and the audio is silent except for some pop-sounds.

Video of the receiver-screen

While playing the videos nothing shows up in the xbmc.log. All other audio, like Dolby Digital, DTS, and Dolby HD all work fine.

Any idea what could be the problem?

Suspend isnt working either, when i try to suspend it goes back to the login-screen and i have to shutdown the machine remotely

Intel Core2Quad 3,2Ghz, 2Gb RAM, Nvidia GTS450 on Ubuntu 10.10, Denon AVR-2311, Denon POA4400A
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-15 02:00 by grote002.)
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #1176
@grote002 - can you please try with the latest updates, your issue may be fixed

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
fincheresque Offline
Donor
Posts: 129
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1177
gnif, question for you, and I apologize, I don't have logs because while I was fiddling around, it sort of fixed itself...yes, even the backup log is gone. Not sure if it has to do with the enumerating devices code or not.

Let's say my HDMI output was detected as this:
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

But for some reason changed to this:
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 2: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

And no, I don't know why it would do that...or if those numbers are even right. But what happened was I built the most recent commit (as of this post...f84a554?) I had no audio. I went into the system -> audio output section and ensured my audio and passthrough was set to HDMI -> HDA NVidia, still nothing. Exited, went back in, and then when I went back to hardware -> audio, there was nothing listed for HDMI Just the onboard HDMI. I could cycle through the options, 2 Intel and one blank. Anyway, I set them both (Audio Output and Passthrough) to blank, exited XBMC, went back in, and sound worked properly.

Anyway, I don't know if an HDMI audio device changing device numbers is something that would come up a lot, or if that would have even been the trouble. If I see it again, I'll ensure to grab a log in a broken and fixed state. Just wondering if the enumerating code is 'smart' enough to pick up a device changing like the above for some reason.

Sorry again, I know that not having a log doesn't give you much to go on...nor is it much of a question. :-)
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #1178
@fincheresque - Can you please send me your most recent log anyway, the enumerate code is new and we need to be sure its working correctly. As for the dev numbers, they are not what used to be shown in XBMC as the old code was incorrect. The old code used to show the hardware DEV number, not the DEV number that is required to open the device with alsa.

When you run aplay -l (note, lowercase l), you will see that the device numbers here do not match the device numbers when you run aplay -L. XBMC was incorrectly showing the physical device numbers (lowercase l), not the ALSA indexed device numbers (uppercase L).

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
grote002 Offline
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #1179
(2012-04-18 17:11)gnif Wrote:  @grote002 - can you please try with the latest updates, your issue may be fixed

I compiled the latest version yesterday evening and it still has the same problem with the flickering DTS HD MA logo on my receiver.

Intel Core2Quad 3,2Ghz, 2Gb RAM, Nvidia GTS450 on Ubuntu 10.10, Denon AVR-2311, Denon POA4400A
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #1180
@grote002 - does TrueHD play? can you please test

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
P-I H Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1181
I have a similar behaviour when I play a video with DTS HD MA. The video plays OK, but there is no sound. When a stream is started my Harman Kardon AVR shows the format and a speaker configuration which inlude flickering symbols. When everything is OK the symbols stop flickering, but with DTS HD MA the flickering never stops.

Dolby true HD 48kHz plays fine. Dolby True HD 96 kHz plays with just a few dropouts. DTS HD High Resolution plays fine.
find quote
grote002 Offline
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #1182
(2012-04-18 17:11)gnif Wrote:  @grote002 - can you please try with the latest updates, your issue may be fixed

@gnif, I tried two demos from http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/high-d...ailers.php

City Redux (Lossless)
Broadway 2010 (Lossless)

When I play these files, the TrueHD logo stays lit on the receiver and all the sound plays, but there are some cracks in the sound.

Intel Core2Quad 3,2Ghz, 2Gb RAM, Nvidia GTS450 on Ubuntu 10.10, Denon AVR-2311, Denon POA4400A
find quote
fincheresque Offline
Donor
Posts: 129
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1183
@gnif, seems to be an issue with pastebin right now....gets to 54% and then gives me a timeout error. Here's what looks to be the enumeration phase.
Code:
20:42:17 T:3018594064   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Skipping device hw:0,2 as it does not have PCM playback ability
20:42:17 T:3018594064   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Unable to obtain ELD information for device hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0, make sure you have ALSA >= 1.0.25
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: Enumerated ALSA devices:
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:     Device 1
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_deviceName      : hw:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_displayName     : HDA Intel
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_displayNameExtra: ALC1200 Analog
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_PCM
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_channels        : FL,FR,BL,BR,FC,LFE
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_sampleRates     : 44100,48000,96000,192000
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_S32NE,AE_FMT_S16NE
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:     Device 2
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_deviceName      : iec958:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_displayName     : HDA Intel
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_displayNameExtra: ALC1200 Digital
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_IEC958
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_channels        : FL,FR
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_sampleRates     : 44100,48000,88200,96000,192000
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_S32NE,AE_FMT_S16NE
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:     Device 3
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_deviceName      : hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_displayName     : HDA NVidia
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_displayNameExtra: HDMI 0
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_HDMI
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_channels        : FL,FR,BL,BR,FC,LFE,SL,SR
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_sampleRates     : 32000,44100,48000,88200,96000,176400,192000
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_S32NE,AE_FMT_S16NE
--- snip
20:42:17 T:3018594064  NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: Using digital output
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: AC3 pass through is enabled
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: DTS pass through is enabled
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: AAC pass through is disabled
--- snip
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - sink incompatible, re-starting
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - Attempting to open device hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Your hardware does not support AE_FMT_FLOAT, trying other formats
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Using data format AE_FMT_S32NE
20:42:17 T:3018594064   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Setting timeout to 160 ms
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - ALSA Initialized:
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Output Device : hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Sample Rate   : 44100
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Sample Format : AE_FMT_S32NE
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Channel Count : 2
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Channel Layout: FL,FR
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Frames        : 880
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Frame Samples : 1760
20:42:17 T:3018594064    INFO:   Frame Size    : 8
20:42:17 T:3018594064   DEBUG: CSoftAE::Initialize - Using speaker layout: 7.1

Once pastebin is working again, I'll post the almost entire log (there's a tone of fluff in there I'll remove) and you can delete this post...
find quote
einhänder Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1184
I guess I'm experiencing the same enumeration issues. I observed the following behaviour which is reproduceable.

Specs: Asus AT3N7A-I (ION 1 - as far as I remember it does not support HD Audio formats, not sure about LPCM though but all of them are disabled)
Git: cb7d1bee09f50dca60a9aee22290f80adc1c14b5
Alsa-info output: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=26ebef...864242ea06
Testfile video: http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/redire...ssless.rar
Testfile audio: http://download.linnrecords.com/test/fla...24bit.aspx

Situation 1 - audio-output-device and passthrough-device are set to hdmi from the beginning
When I do a fresh boot or restart xbmc.bin I'm not able to get audio output on videos. It does not matter whether the container's contents are

- HD or SD
- AC3, DTS, PCM Stereo, HD formats

The consquence is the video track starts to play with no audio output and video output is completely laggy/choppy. Sometimes XBMC crashes or freezes randomly. Audio (mp3, alac, flac) gets played back with no issues but only if I start an audio track before I try to playback a video. If I first try to playback a video and afterwards pure audio I experience the same behaviour that applies to videos - no audio output and laggy/choppy visualization.

Log 1 (first video [-> crashes, so i quickly stopped playback] then audio): http://paste.pocoo.org/show/584514/
Log 2 (first audio then video [-> crash]): http://paste.pocoo.org/show/584512/

Situation 2 - audio-output-device is set to digital out and passthrough-device is set to hdmi from the beginning (my preferred setup)
When I do a fresh boot or restart xbmc.bin I'm able to get audio output on video. Same applies to pure audio tracks. But it seems like the behaviour form situation 1 is turned around. That means when I first play audio and afterwards a video everythings works fine. But when I first play a video and afterwards pure audio then I do not get audio output and laggy/choppy visualizations.
Again formats and containers don't matter.

Log 1 (first audio then video): http://paste.pocoo.org/show/584509/
Log 2 (first video then audio): http://paste.pocoo.org/show/584510/

In both situations it does not make a difference if I alter the settings without doing a reboot or restart xbmc.bin.

EDIT: Seems like playing a video track always breaks the ability to playback audio afterwards. I just had a situation 2 where I played audio [works] -> video [works] -> audio [fails] -> video [works].
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-20 12:10 by einhänder.)
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #1185
@einhänder - thanks for the detailed report, I will look into this when I can

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
Post Reply