What exactly does "Video Postprocessing" in the settings menu do?
Hi,

I have already searched in the Wiki, but I cannot find what the setting "Video Postprocessing" in the playback settings menu does: I can select Off, SD-Only or SD and HD, but what exactly will happen if it is enabled for SD or HD content? I do not find any menu to chose any postprocessing options, are there any additional settings alowing to adjust what kind of postprocessing is actually used?
+1
+2
Well, obviously, since nobody seems to know the answer, this setting has no effect at all. Why not remove it from the user interface then? Smile
I think it softens the picture a bit making it smoother.
Try it on a bad encoded SD file with many blocks and see what happens.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_post-processing
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
Clearly we're conducting a double-blind experiment.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

Livin Wrote:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_post-processing
Big Grin Yeah, ok... but as you can well see, that page is pretty complex. There's tons of post-processing options that can be used. It would be definitely useful to know what's happening "behind the curtain".
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first (usually it's enough to follow instructions in the second post).
I have always wondered this as well. Does anyone know?
Yeah, maybe it's a placebo Smile
I guess we'll have to look at the sourcecode ourselves, since noone really seems to be able to illuminate that mystery...
Jackie78 Wrote:Yeah, maybe it's a placebo Smile
I guess we'll have to look at the sourcecode ourselves, since noone really seems to be able to illuminate that mystery...