HTPC build with new ASUS AT5IONT-I

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nijaju Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
tripkip Wrote:Because (for what i've learned about xbmc so far) it runs smoother/faste on xbmc live,
faster bootups thats for sure. I have not tested it.

I'd be interested in your results when you actually test this. I'm not too familiar with XBMC Live but (and correct me if I'm wrong) I believe it runs on Linux. I've heard that NVIDIA plans on offering 0 Linux drivers for the ION 2 which mean you'll be using Intel's on-chip graphics and you may as well buy an ION2-less motherboard to save yourself money.

But please, when you get results, let us know if it is smoother on XBMC Live vs Win 7. If it is, that would really change my mind about some things.
find quote
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Post: #32
nijaju Wrote:I'd be interested in your results when you actually test this. I'm not too familiar with XBMC Live but (and correct me if I'm wrong) I believe it runs on Linux. I've heard that NVIDIA plans on offering 0 Linux drivers for the ION 2 which mean you'll be using Intel's on-chip graphics and you may as well buy an ION2-less motherboard to save yourself money.

But please, when you get results, let us know if it is smoother on XBMC Live vs Win 7. If it is, that would really change my mind about some things.

I will do XBMC Live vs Win 7 + XBMC performance comparison.

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
find quote
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Post: #33
I changed the memory, ordered 2 x Kingston ValueRAM KVR1333D3S9/1G now.

But don't you think it is f°cked up, the only 2GB memory on the QVL is Hynix's HMT325S6BFR8C-H9, problem is i can't find it anywhere !!

Originially I wanted to go with one 2gb memory, and eventually put in another to get 4gb's of memory. Guess that's not possible.

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
find quote
Rolle2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
tripkip Wrote:Does it really matter that much? i thought if its DDR3 SODIMM then it would be ok... Oo

I hope i'm wrong but...

Users reports (swedish forum) that they have tried those four memory and it doesn't work.

Corsair 2048MB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz SO-DIMM (CM3X2GSD1066)
Kingston 4096MB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz SO-DIMM (KTA-MB1066K2/4G) (2x2048MB)
Kingston 2048MB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz SO-DIMM (KVR1066D3S7/2G)
OCZ 4096MB DDR3 PC3-10666 1333MHz SO-DIMM (OCZ3M13334GK) (2x2048MB)

I have bought 2x1GB of Kingtiger 1GB IDSH1G-04A1F1C-10F. (from QVL list)
find quote
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Post: #35
Rolle2000 Wrote:I hope i'm wrong but...

Users reports (swedish forum) that they have tried those four memory and it doesn't work.

Corsair 2048MB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz SO-DIMM (CM3X2GSD1066)
Kingston 4096MB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz SO-DIMM (KTA-MB1066K2/4G) (2x2048MB)
Kingston 2048MB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066MHz SO-DIMM (KVR1066D3S7/2G)
OCZ 4096MB DDR3 PC3-10666 1333MHz SO-DIMM (OCZ3M13334GK) (2x2048MB)

I have bought 2x1GB of Kingtiger 1GB IDSH1G-04A1F1C-10F. (from QVL list)

In that case, you've saved my life Big Grin thank you.
I've been able to change my order right on time.

Could you give me the link to that forum please? (This one I guess http://www.sweclockers.com/forum/102-htp...at5iont-i/)
So you have a AT5IONT-I yourself then?

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
(This post was last modified: 2010-08-17 17:39 by tripkip.)
find quote
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,216
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #36
nijaju Wrote:(and correct me if I'm wrong) I believe it runs on Linux. I've heard that NVIDIA plans on offering 0 Linux drivers for the ION 2

you stand corrected, sire. would be interesting to know where exactly you "heard" of this. nvidia never made a difference between Ion and Ion2 software-wise, all new drivers work on both platforms (win&linux) for both generations of Ion and of course support all GPU-features including VDPAU.

XBMCbuntu Frodo --> Foxconn Netbox 330i --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sharp Aquos LC-46XD1E
XBMCbuntu FAQ <-- answers 99% of your questions.
Forum Search answers the rest.
find quote
Robotica Offline
Banned
Posts: 1,202
Joined: Aug 2010
Post: #37
I am planning to buy a RF-remote control with this board. There is a bundled remote (at least in the Deluxe version) but it's IR. I don't like external solutions for this. Anyone know the way to accomplish this? Internal USB receiver? PCI-x card?
(This post was last modified: 2010-08-17 18:04 by Robotica.)
find quote
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Post: #38
No idea, i'm going to use my iPhone as a wifi xbmc remote at first.

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
find quote
Rolle2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
tripkip Wrote:Could you give me the link to that forum please? (This one I guess http://www.sweclockers.com/forum/102-htp...at5iont-i/)
Correct! :-)
tripkip Wrote:So you have a AT5IONT-I yourself then?
Yes. I bought RAM memory yesterday and the motherboard today.

I have not unpacked anything yet. AT5IONT-I do have WiFi, right?
I consider this case: Ace Sonay
find quote
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Post: #40
Yes it does, i think there is no antenna included though.

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
find quote
SireFoss Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Ventura, Ca.
Post: #41
tripkip Wrote:Could you give me the link to that forum please? (This one I guess http://www.sweclockers.com/forum/102-htp...at5iont-i/)

Is there an English translated version of this forum?
find quote
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Post: #42
SireFoss Wrote:Is there an English translated version of this forum?

google translate

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
find quote
SireFoss Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Ventura, Ca.
Post: #43
tripkip Wrote:google translate

Ah. Of course. Didn't realize it could do the entire page via entering the URL.
find quote
nijaju Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Rolle2000 Wrote:Correct! :-)
Yes. I bought RAM memory yesterday and the motherboard today.

I have not unpacked anything yet. AT5IONT-I do have WiFi, right?
I consider this case: Ace Sonay

I'm quite certain that only the Deluxe has WiFi. I've only been looking at pictures and specs and manuals though. Perhaps someone who has one in their hands could provide conclusive evidence.
find quote
nijaju Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Hannes The Hun Wrote:you stand corrected, sire. would be interesting to know where exactly you "heard" of this. nvidia never made a difference between Ion and Ion2 software-wise, all new drivers work on both platforms (win&linux) for both generations of Ion and of course support all GPU-features including VDPAU.

Ah...a little digging around and you're right (which I'm happy about). What it doesn't support in Linux is the Optimus technology but that doesn't really affect us net-top people anyways. Here's an article which talks a little bit about it.
find quote
Post Reply