Installing Samba 3.0.28 on Mac OS X 10.6.2
Hi,

This is my first post on this forum, so please excuse me I there is any mistake on my side. I am new to Mac OS X, I am trying to compile XBMC source code for which I have to install Samba 3.0.28 (downloaded from http://news.samba.org/releases/3.0.28/). When I try to configure samba source code it configure but when I try to compile it generates following error
{{{"Compiling lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c: In function ‘smb_readline’:
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: ‘rl_completion_func_t’ undeclared (first use in this function)
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: for each function it appears in.)
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: syntax error before ‘)’ token
The following command failed:
gcc -fno-common -I./include -I. -I./lib -I./../lib/replace -I./../lib/talloc -I./.. -D_SAMBA_BUILD_=4 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -c lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c -o lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.o
make: *** [lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.o] Error 1
"}}}.

Can some help me out in sorting out the above problem.

Regards,

C. Ravi Shankar
ravishankar Wrote:Hi,

This is my first post on this forum, so please excuse me I there is any mistake on my side. I am new to Mac OS X, I am trying to compile XBMC source code for which I have to install Samba 3.0.28 (downloaded from http://news.samba.org/releases/3.0.28/). When I try to configure samba source code it configure but when I try to compile it generates following error
{{{"Compiling lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c: In function ‘smb_readline’:
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: ‘rl_completion_func_t’ undeclared (first use in this function)
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
lib/smbreadline/smbreadline.c:132: error: for each function it appears in.)