"Tricking" XBMC into retrieving art, plot info etc. for HD & BD Titles?
Hi all,

I am new to XBMC after playing around with various MCE setups and I am just loving it so far. I cannot believe how this tiny little thing is breathing new life into my old SD DVD collection which I had considered "unwatchable" even when playing them in a high end player such as a Toshiba XA2. The available adjustments for video de-interlacing & aspect size re-scaling are just incredible. I have not even seen this level of adjustment in high end commercial systems! Hats off to the XBMC team!!

OK, I have given up on the idea of archiving all of my current 450+ HD-DVD and Bluray titles (at least for now). It is really pointless given my families lifestyle. What I really find is a more workable solution is to just archive my remaining 275 odd SD DVD collection to an external 2TB USB HDD connected to my patched Apple TV. I am going to be getting another (2) Apple TV's and doing the exact same thing.. Just adding their own local external 2TB HDD and duplicating the content. For us, this is a perfect solution for the Master Bedroom and Rec. Rooms. I do NOT want to stream content from one location.

I have been attempting to "trick" the setup into just retrieving Cover or Poster Art and plot/cast info for the High Definition titles with mixed results, as it will always want to see VIDEO files in folders. The idea I have is that SD versions of kids animated movies or SD titles that have not been (and probably never will be replaced) with HD DVD or Bluray versions can play instantly, but we want to still view and scroll through our high definition collection using the GUI. The physical discs will all be kept on the main floor in a central location which is within 20 paces to all of the other areas in question. We dont mind getting a little exercise!

I would appreciate any ideas or insight into how I can accomplish this.