Looking for help getting MCE remote to work with xbmc
Hardware:
XBMCFreak 10.0 beta2 installed onto Zotac HD-ID11
IR Receiver
Harmony One Remote Control

Preface:
Previously, I had everything working under a Windows 7 install, remote included, but wanted the hardware accelerated decoding available in the ubuntu release. While I know my way around technology without an issue, I am new to the *nix OS language.

Problem:
I've gone through several forum posts and searches trying to get this working without success including trying to replace lirc_mceusb with mod_mce (don't know how). The IR Receiver purchased comes with a standard MCE remote, but I've never used it. I only wanted the MCE Receiver, since it was also equipped to handle input from an MCE Keyboard, so I remapped all of the buttons on my Harmony One to send out keypresses for the matched XBMC commands. (ie. [stop] button on remote sends an "x" keypress to IR receiver).

I attempted the walkthrough here, but was unable to proceed because my device isn't being listed when I issue a "cat /proc/bus/input/devices" command.

looking through dmesg via grep, the following lines appear related to my issue:
Code:
xbmc@XBMCLive:/dev$ dmesg | grep lirc_mceusb
[   12.043846] lirc_mceusb: Windows Media Center Edition USB IR Transceiver driver for LIRC 1.90
[   12.043857] lirc_mceusb: Daniel Melander <[email protected]>, Martin Blatter <[email protected]>, Dan Conti <[email protected]>
[   12.320551] lirc_mceusb[2]: Topseed Technology Corp. eHome Infrared Transceiver on usb3:2
[   12.320640] usbcore: registered new interface driver lirc_mceusb