[WIP] TWiT Addon

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #31
Interesting.... I'll see if I can figure out a way to prevent that from happing.

Thanks for the heads up.
find quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #32
I noticed that the rss: feed has the videos up before the website. Now (version .6) if no video is found on the website it grabs the latest episode from the rss: feed.

This may need tweaking as I'm not sure if there is a delay from when the audio goes up on the website and the video on the rss: feed.
find quote
Hinz
Unregistered

Post: #33
Hmm, why was resume removed? I think it worked fine.
Only "TWiT Live" has resume. Which is kinda funny as you can't actually resume a live stream.

TWiT Live seems bugged? It's buffering every 20th second. http://live.twit.tv/ works fine in a browser. Though that doesn't seem to be the same source as you use. I get different video in the addon compared to http://live.twit.tv/
quote
scottmcclung Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
Quote:TWiT Live seems bugged? It's buffering every 20th second.

I wonder if Bitgravity was having some temporary issues. I've been running TWIT Live through this add-on all morning and haven't buffered once. Are you still experiencing this Hinz?
find quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #35
Hinz Wrote:Hmm, why was resume removed? I think it worked fine.
Only "TWiT Live" has resume. Which is kinda funny as you can't actually resume a live stream.

I didn't do anything to remove resume. I don't think there is any way, from a plugin, to effect this behavior. Wish I could remove it from the live stream.

Ideas anyone?

Quote:TWiT Live seems bugged? It's buffering every 20th second. http://live.twit.tv/ works fine in a browser. Though that doesn't seem to be the same source as you use. I get different video in the addon compared to http://live.twit.tv/

Your not the first to report buffering issues with the live stream. I've never had any trouble with it, playing fine right now, but I rarely watch it. Maybe post a debug log of when your having issues with it. Someone, not necessarily myself, may be able to tell whats going on?

The streams on live.twit.tv are all rtmp, witch I'm not ready to support. Patches welcomeSmile
find quote
Hinz
Unregistered

Post: #36
divingmule Wrote:I didn't do anything to remove resume. I don't think there is any way, from a plugin, to effect this behavior.
Strange, I'm sure resume worked before. Not sure if it was before last addon update or last XBMC update.
quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #37
I installed the old version and indeed resume does work with it.

Investigating further...
find quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #38
Update on the way.

Switching back to scraping the rss: feed. For the shows without an rss: feed we'll still use the website but, no resumeSad

TWiT Live no longer ask if you want to resumeSmile
find quote
Hinz
Unregistered

Post: #39
Ok, thanks.
But why doesn't resume work on the website files? Seems to just be mp4 files.
quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #40
Hinz Wrote:Ok, thanks.
But why doesn't resume work on the website files? Seems to just be mp4 files.

Not sure. Has something to do with how you do "addItem" in the plugin.

resume don't work
Code:
def addLink():
    u=sys.argv[0]+"?url="+urllib.quote_plus(url)+"&mode="+str(mode)+"&name="+urllib.quote_plus(name)
    ok=True
    liz=xbmcgui.ListItem(name, iconImage="DefaultVideo.png", thumbnailImage=iconimage)
        ok=xbmcplugin.addDirectoryItem(handle=int(sys.argv[1]),url=u,listitem=liz)
    return ok

resume works
Code:
def addLink():
    ok=True
    liz=xbmcgui.ListItem(name, iconImage="DefaultVideo.png", thumbnailImage=iconimage)
        ok=xbmcplugin.addDirectoryItem(handle=int(sys.argv[1]),url=url,listitem=liz)
    return ok
find quote
Hinz
Unregistered

Post: #41
"Twit Live" added in Favourites still has "resume/start from beginning". Though I guess you just forgot that?
http://pastebin.ca/2022414
quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #42
Hinz Wrote:"Twit Live" added in Favourites still has "resume/start from beginning". Though I guess you just forgot that?
http://pastebin.ca/2022414

Well... I don't know. It was kind of a 'hack' I used so it wouldn't show up.

I'll see if I can figure another way to do it.
find quote
BugSlayer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
Hi,

I couldn't find if or where in GITHUB the plugin source resides. Basically I just added the following 3 new shows:

- Triangulation
- Mostly Photo
- All About Android

Where can I post a patch or who can I send the changed files to?

Thx
find quote
Hinz
Unregistered

Post: #44
TWiT live streaming is very often as bad as YouTube nowadays. Sad ~30 seconds of video and ~20 seconds of buffering, over and over again. TWiT live at twit.tv/live seems to work fine though.
quote
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 61
Post: #45
I'm really busy the next few days but expect an update ~late this week.
find quote
Post Reply