[Dharma Beta2] Stutter on a blu-ray rip

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
csmager Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
thethirdnut Wrote:I'll look into this from my end and let you know...I have been busily re-ripping the DTS-HD + Dolby TrueHD tracks for my blurays.

NOTE: the real greasy one for me was The Dark Knight which is Dolby TrueHD...
I've since watched a few of the DTS-HD->flac conversions - it seems that they do still exhibit the problem, but much less often. Dark Knight is a couple of times a minute.
find quote
thethirdnut Offline
Donor
Posts: 692
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 23
Location: western Canada
Post: #32
Are you using mkvmerge to mux your movies back together? Directly or indirectly through some other tool?

I ran into an error muxing 1080i blurays via mkvmerge... http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=648...stcount=16

At the moment I think I can likely get mkvmerge to work with 1080i by forcing the fps for interlaced vids.

I wonder if there is an error or some other type of missing option for FLAC integration via mkvmerge?
find quote
csmager Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
Yep, mkvmerge is the only tool I've tried using.

Actually intrigued by your other thread - I have a similar issue with huge stuttering on my 1080i60 (Live Music Blu-rays) stuff ripped via Handbrake into 1080p30 (tonnes of frames dropped), but I thought it was due to the Atom 330/ION combo not having the power to decode them - I've now encoded them at 720p instead.

Might have to have another go at that! Though I was fairly sure I'd taken the video stream out of the mkv file and it still dropped a tonne of frames.
(This post was last modified: 2010-11-24 18:16 by csmager.)
find quote
thethirdnut Offline
Donor
Posts: 692
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 23
Location: western Canada
Post: #34
My rip of The Matador played absolutely terrible. Tried listed procedure using tsmuxer and now it plays fine.

In MKVMERGE there is also a tab to force fps = 30,000 / 1001 = 29.97 when you highlight the video stream ... dont have mkvmerge here at the moment to tell you exact name.

I did that for another 1080i rip, but havent had a chance to test it yet.
find quote
csmager Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
thethirdnut Wrote:In MKVMERGE there is also a tab to force fps = 30,000 / 1001 = 29.97 when you highlight the video stream ... dont have mkvmerge here at the moment to tell you exact name.
Is this still using a Handbrake transcoding to deinterlace to 30p rather than keeping at 60i?

Will definitely give it a go later. I think I've noticed when I use eac3to to view the contents of these MKVs, it does give a 'no frame rate information' warning.
find quote
thethirdnut Offline
Donor
Posts: 692
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 23
Location: western Canada
Post: #36
YES; I transcode to x264 -and- deinterlace vids using handbrake then just mux DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD audio stream back into final mkv.

I tried using the deinterlace filter on original 1080i m2ts file within XBMC and results werent as good.

Basically, as I understand it XBMC can not pass the interlaced video stream on to the TV for the TV [or amp] to do the deinterlacing...so you either do in on-the-fly with XBMC or deinterlace it ahead of time.

That's what I took away from my previous interlacing discussion.
find quote
mariyoshikong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Cedar Hill, TX
Post: #37
This is going to sound like I'm whining, but is there any chance that this bug will get looked at before the final release of Dharma? This seems like a pretty bad bug for a final release, seeing as how it renders a very popular audio/video combination unwatchable (in my opinion).

I am willing to assist in any way I can. I am an able coder, but completely unfamiliar with the xbmc code base and multimedia software in general. If someone could give me a place to start looking, I would gladly try and debug the thing myself.
find quote
CrystalP Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 18
Location: The Great North
Post: #38
Bobo1on1 mentionned audio timestamp issues with the initial sample file so chances are it's similar to the DTS in mkv issue and a similar workaround might work. Have a look at the 'Setting A/V sync window for smoothvideo' thread in the dev forum.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ, Wiki and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
mariyoshikong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Cedar Hill, TX
Post: #39
Thanks for the heads up, I will read through that thread when I get a chance. In the meantime I checked out one of the files that has been giving me trouble with both the original dts-hd track and a FLAC track. FWIW I only see the stuttering/%error spikes/dropped frames on the FLAC track. I will do a little more testing and look at some logs and see if I can come up with anything relevant.
find quote
liq456 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
Has anyone been able to fix the mkv+flac stuttering issue?
find quote
thethirdnut Offline
Donor
Posts: 692
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 23
Location: western Canada
Post: #41
liq456 Wrote:Has anyone been able to fix the mkv+flac stuttering issue?

From my end = NO.

I gave up on this; converted the FLAC tracks to PCM for files already done + rip the DTS-HD or TrueHD track for all new bluray rips.

This gives me TrueHD --> LPCM, DTS-HD --> DTS core.

Eventually, we should be able to get bitstreaming for both so keeping original tracks is not a bad course of action IMHO.

If I helped out pls give me a +

XBMC1:
i3-540, GT430, Ubuntu 12.04 min + Frodo
-> HT: 58" plasma, Denon 3808CI, Paradigm Studio 60, CC-590, ADP-470, Seismic 12
XBMC2: Atom330, GT240, Ubuntu 12.04 min + Frodo
-> Main: 50" plasma, Rotel RX-1052, B&W 683
Server: 20TB FreeBSD + ZFS
find quote
liq456 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
I just tried Boxee, VLC and I don't get any stuttering on mkv+flac. Doesn't boxee use the same software as XBMC? Here is a test clip, it plays fine with VLC and Boxee Stutters in XBMC
(This post was last modified: 2011-04-02 17:29 by liq456.)
find quote
therionate Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
Tested the file from the TS, but on OpenELEC I only get 2 framedrops at the very beginning of the file. All following video including the birds playing flawlessly.
Working with a XS35GT with 2 Gb of memory, streaming from my NAS.
find quote
Post Reply