My First HTPC: Antec ISK 300 & Asus AT3IONT-I
UPDATE: I got the pictures taken and posted, view them here.

I have been playing around with XBMC on Windows and some experimental Live installs for about the last year, but have been holding off on building a set top box until I decided what I wanted to use for it, as well as when funds were available. Being a gamer going way back, along with my day job as a systems admin, building a box that was small, quiet, and aesthetically pleasing was a big departure for me from what I normally do (and my day job is in a call center so I don't have to make anything look pretty...).

After a ton of research and shopping, I finally built my HTPC and although there are plenty of similar threads out there, I want to share my experience... Some of the parts I used don't seem to be used by other people (I searched constantly to see if I was making the wrong decisions with something, as everyone seems to love Revo's, the new ION 2's, AT3 & 5 Deluxes, and Zotac boards).

To start, my network backbone is a wireless router going to a 1Gb switch for wired connections throughout the house (one of which goes to the wall behind the TV for XBMC, I didn't want to mess with wireless). The router serves WIFI downstairs and also is wired into a router upstairs with duplicate settings to extend the WIFI network. On the Gb switch are my fileserver (Freenas with Raid 5 array - yes this is a hotly debated subject as I know there are plenty of Unraid users out there who are happy with their setups. In my case, I have used Freenas for a few years, am comfortable with it, and am alright with a Raid 5 setup), my desktop, which has a JBOD array on it that Cobian backs up the Freenas shares to weekly, and my HTPC.

Since I was using the desktop for trying out XBMC, all I had to so was build the box:

Asus AT3IONT-I