Smart Playlist in Home Menu Question?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mwkurt Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,064
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Post: #1
Hello,

I have a smart playlist I have created and have the shortcut on my home menu. I would like to be able to click on this smart playlist and have it play immediately, rather than show me a folder view of the TV Shows that are in the playlist, as it now does. Is it possible to achieve this behaviour?
Also, when I select random when creating the playlist, it doesn't really play randomly, rather it plays all episodes of one show and then all episodes of the next show and so on. Could someone please tell me the error of my ways?
I am using MYsql database and Dharma beta 1.
Please help!
Thanks,
Mark
find quote
mcborzu Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,381
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: dsf
Post: #2
If use vertical it's Home.xml and Horizontal Home it's Includes_Home_Horizontal.xml

<item id="21"> to <item id="25"> is playlist code


Change-

From:
Quote:<onclick>XBMC.ActivateWindow(10025,$INFO[Skin.String(Menu_Custom6_Path)],return)</onclick>
to:
Quote:<onclick>XBMC.PlayMedia($INFO[Skin.String(Menu_Custom6_Path)])</onclick>


I use a random episode playlist and you have to set it to sort by: playlist while in that playlist, and obviously set the playlist to 'random' when setting it up

[Image: widget]

Check out The Carmichael - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Night - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Unfinished - A Skin For XBMC
find quote
mwkurt Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,064
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Post: #3
Mcborzu,

Thank you so much for the information!!!

I am not currently in front of my XBMC and can not look at the playlist creator. When you say "to sort by: playlist while in that playlist," is this an option in the playlist creator for that playlist or do I have to create a playlist for each show then add each playlist and then "sort by playlist?

Thanks,
Mark
find quote
mcborzu Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,381
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: dsf
Post: #4
I meant when you click on that view:

[Image: mrku.png]

[Image: widget]

Check out The Carmichael - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Night - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Unfinished - A Skin For XBMC
find quote
mwkurt Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,064
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Post: #5
mcborzu,

I am thinking that the menu gets a bit cluttered on the home menu, so I was thinking I would add my shortcuts to the "TV Shows" submenu. Where would I edit to get a submenu to autoplay?

Thanks,
Mark
find quote
mcborzu Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,381
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: dsf
Post: #6
mwkurt Wrote:mcborzu,

I am thinking that the menu gets a bit cluttered on the home menu, so I was thinking I would add my shortcuts to the "TV Shows" submenu. Where would I edit to get a submenu to autoplay?

Thanks,
Mark

Oddly enough I am planning to expand both home and submenu's. I branched the options into separate categories in skin settings.

[Image: mono2.png]

Though I don't want errors so it wont make 1.4.7 but I'll add it next week...

To do yourself copy one of the tv subs -
Quote:<item id="3">
<label>$LOCALIZE[744]</label>
<onclick>ActivateWindow(VideoFiles)</onclick>
</item>

and change the onclick to point to one of your playlists, also change the id="xx" to something different.

[Image: widget]

Check out The Carmichael - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Night - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Unfinished - A Skin For XBMC
find quote