Using a tv and a usb lcd touchscreen
Hi everyone!

I have to admit that I'm new to xbmc. I want to buy a ASRock ION 330HT in order to use xbmc on an Ubuntu or Windows system (have not decided yet).

I have a plasma TV which will be connected via HDMI. Additionally look for a LCD touchscreen display which should be connected via USB.

The primary purpose of the touchscreen is to navigate through my music library as I don't want to switch on the TV everytime I want to hear some music.

The best solution would be if xbmc could detect if the tv is running.
Scenario 1 (TV running):
The TV screen is used for navigation (by using a remote controller) and displaying content (movies, pictures,...)
The LCD just shows some meta information like dvd chapter, time, and so on. I don't want to use the touch functionalities of the screen.

Scenario 2 (TV switched off):
The navigation is swapped to the lcd display where you can navigate (mostly inside the music library as watching movies wouldn't be fun on a 7" display). In this case the skin should change to a touch optimzed layout.

Are both of the scenarios relaizable by using xbmc. If you have any doubts, hints or whatsoever, please let my know. Please consider the choice of the operating system as well. If some particular feature requests just work for Windows/Linux, please advice me of it.

Thanks for your help!

Kind regards
Lobster
Id suggest using the webinterface when wanting to playing music with tv off - with a laptop or ipad.
Nick8888 Wrote:Id suggest using the webinterface when wanting to playing music with tv off - with a laptop or ipad.

Hi Nick8888,

thanks for your answer. A laptop is too unhandy I think and I don't have an ipad. Anyway, I guess I can display the webinterface at the lcd screen, but I don't know if the usability of the web interface is satisfying. Using xbmc directly would be better (if possible).