Got my foxconn nt 330i, now what?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Pondering Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #166
Although this comes on the heels of a new XBMCFreak release:

http://www.xbmcfreak.nl/en/xbmcfreak-10-...livecd-v2/

- Kernel 2.6.38-7-generic
- Built-in ASRock remote drivers
- The Wonder Patch to improve desktop experience
- Nvidia 260.19.29 drivers
- Fix auto enabling of usb wakeup feature
- Fix /etc/xbmc/hostname otherwise default to XBMCLive
- Double click remote fix
- Cleaned up double dir under /var/

Maybe they've done the hard lifting for us! I haven't checked this release out yet...might make this guide obsolete!
find quote
silencery Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #167
Hrm.. good to know. I'm still on vanilla Dharma live, so it doesn't really affect me directly until I try migrating over.

Either way, unless they're somehow managing to flash bios for the NT-330i in place, your guide still did the trick Smile

Thanks again!
find quote
Pondering Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #168
No problem! Glad it helped!

A note for flashing the BIOS: I found I was missing features/options until I hit 'Default Settings' (on the last page if memory serves). Upon reboot the wake features and AHCI options appeared. That had me stumped for a good while!
find quote
flexgrip Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #169
Hello,

I have had my foxconn for a long time. I've run different variations in Ubuntu, opensuse, xbmcfreak, and xbmc. 32bit or 64bit.

My problem is, with any of those combinations, I get freezing in xbmc. Usually it happens in the menus. I will be scrolling through the list of TV shows or something, and the screen will get artifacts and the whole thing freezes up.

I then will SSH into it and notice that xbmc is running at 100% cpu. If I kill xbmc and restart it it will get to the menu and instantly freeze again. This time without any keyboard input.

In the logs, right before the freeze, I see some error about dbus. Doesn't really say exactly what the error is though.

The only way I can get around any of this is to use upnp to connect to my network shares. If I connect to them via nfs, samba, http, or ssh, it freezes with the same dbus issue.

This happens in ALL variations of ubuntu. I've tried xbmc live, ubuntu core server + X + xbmc... 32bit/64bit everything! Now that I run upnp it is usable for now. But I am not really fond of upnp because I can't play any of the old iso's I have over upnp.

Anyone else have this problem? I would absolutely just love to figure this one out because I really like the size, noise, and playback on this thing. Really smooth and simple. I just hate this underlying issue where the wrong kind of network connections to my shares will cause it to lock up.
find quote
claypigeon Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #170
flexgrip Wrote:Hello,

I have had my foxconn for a long time. I've run different variations in Ubuntu, opensuse, xbmcfreak, and xbmc. 32bit or 64bit.

My problem is, with any of those combinations, I get freezing in xbmc. Usually it happens in the menus. I will be scrolling through the list of TV shows or something, and the screen will get artifacts and the whole thing freezes up.

I then will SSH into it and notice that xbmc is running at 100% cpu. If I kill xbmc and restart it it will get to the menu and instantly freeze again. This time without any keyboard input.

In the logs, right before the freeze, I see some error about dbus. Doesn't really say exactly what the error is though.

The only way I can get around any of this is to use upnp to connect to my network shares. If I connect to them via nfs, samba, http, or ssh, it freezes with the same dbus issue.

This happens in ALL variations of ubuntu. I've tried xbmc live, ubuntu core server + X + xbmc... 32bit/64bit everything! Now that I run upnp it is usable for now. But I am not really fond of upnp because I can't play any of the old iso's I have over upnp.

Anyone else have this problem? I would absolutely just love to figure this one out because I really like the size, noise, and playback on this thing. Really smooth and simple. I just hate this underlying issue where the wrong kind of network connections to my shares will cause it to lock up.

Try the OpenELEC version of XMBC, I have it on my nt330i, and while I have had it crash, it happens rarely. It is all pre built for you, you just need to put it on a USB stick and boot, then install it on your drive or another USB stick. By rare I mean maybe 1 once a week with heavy usage, and that is typicality a hang when I am trying to access a stream off the internet from something like the livestream addon, which I think must be some kind of bad data crashing a codec, but never in the way you outline. I am using SMB share for most of my content access, about 6TB worth, that if very solid.
find quote
flexgrip Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #171
Thanks for the suggestion, but I have tried openelec. It had some issue with my TV's modelines and I decided to just scrap it because I think it was also freezing as well. Not really sure what difference openelec would make considering opensuse and ubuntu both have the issue.

I cannot believe that I am the only person with an nt330i thats had this problem. I have tried installing to a thumb drive, internal hard drive, and even had newegg replace it with a new one, just in case there was a hardware issue.

I've had the thing well over a year now. It continues to F up throughout all of the ubuntu updates. As I said, the only way to keep it running is by using upnp, which has its limitations.
find quote
claypigeon Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #172
Just tossed the openelec option as I knew it was a known working configuration of linux running xbmc, on the nt330i. openelec is its own from scratch linux build, it is not build under a general distribution of linux like ubuntu so I thought if your problem was with the distributions it it might solve your problem, like your comment about ubuntu update failings, but if it hardware related, it likely wont. like I said I have all kinds of SMB mounts that I play my content over on my nt330i with out issues. if there is anything else I can tell you about my setup let me know.
find quote
Pondering Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #173
Well scratch my guide, just tried: http://www.openelec.tv
Snagged that, followed their instructions.

Everything works out of the box and it's only 80mb installed!!
find quote
totalwise Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #174
i have my xbmc live box on my nt330i, one thing that bugs me is that i rarely use it so I unplug the device from my mains, and the device does not have an internal battery to rememebr the cmos settins so I have to get it to reset the setting each time.. This is annoying.
find quote
stuck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #175
Pondering Wrote:0.0 - Preface:

Better late than never.... =)


1.0 - My Hardware:
- Foxconn NT-330I-A-B-NA-A NVIDIA ION 1 x 200Pin NVIDIA ION Black Barebone System
(http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.asp...6856119016)
- OCZ Onyx Series Indilinx 32GB 2.5IN SATA2 SSD
(http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=51614)
- Corsair VS2GSDS800D2 PC2-6400 2GB 1X2GB DDR2-800 200PIN SODIMM
(http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=37152)
- Rosewill WMC Remote control/Rcvr RRC-127 for Win 7
(http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.asp...6880101003)
- Logitech diNovo Edge 2-Tone Bluetooth Wireless Mini Keyboard
(http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.asp...6823126008)
- Secondary PC running Win7
- Kingston Datatraveler 102 - 8GB USB Flash Drive
(http://pricecanada.com/click.php?id=3778551)

2.0 - My Software:

- XBMCFreak Maverick v2
(http://www.xbmcfreak.nl/en/xbmcfreak-liv...verick-v2/)
- UNetbootin
(http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/)
- Foxconn NT-330I BIOS (Beta) - 943F1P07.ROM
(http://www.multiupload.com/RFUKPFQGPU) *Use at own risk, Beta software*

3.0 - Preparation:

- Optional: Flash BIOS to latest Beta .ROM for SATA AHCI and fixed Quiet Mode Boot Logo
- Install UNetbootin on secondary PC
- Make bootable USB drive from .ISO
- Make sure Foxconn BIOS set to boot USB drive first
- Plug into a wired network

4.0 - Basic Install Process:

- Boot from USB Drive
- Select: Install XBMCLive
- Select: English
- Select: Canada or United States
- Select: Guided - use entire disk
- Hit Enter
- Hit Left Arrow then Enter
...Wait at a blue screen while it formats
- Choose a Name: xbmc
- Choose a Username: xbmc
- Choose a Password: ____
- Verify Password: ____
- (Optional) Verify a weak Password
...Wait while installation finishes
- Hit Enter
- Remove USB Drive after system shuts down
- Turn system on, XBMC should boot up

5.0 - Fix Ethernet (If no network was plugged in during install) (Optional)

- Hit: Ctrl+Alt+F2
- Enter your Username
- Enter your Password
- Edit the network adapters:

- Enter your Password
- Add to the end (if it doesn't already exist):

- Hit Ctrl+X, Y, Enter to save
- Restart network adapters:

...[OK]'s should appear beside enabled network adapters
- Reboot:


6.0 - WPA2-Personal Wifi setup (Optional)

- Hit: Ctrl+Alt+F2
- Enter your Username
- Enter your Password
- Update the repos?:

- Enter your Password
...Wait
- Find out the Wifi_SSID_For_Your_Network and the Wifi_Password_For_Your_Network and use them in the following:
- Encrypt your Wifi_Password:

- Write down the long string after psk=, (easy to write 8 rows of 8 characters, 64 total), these will be the The_64_Characters_To_Write_Down
- Edit network adapters:

- (Optional) If using wifi-only remove the two eth0 lines
- Add to the end:

- Hit Ctrl+X, Y, Enter to save
- Restart network adapters:

...[OK]'s should appear beside enabled network adapters
- Reboot:


7.0 Fix Suspend Bugs:

- Inside XBMC go to System, System, Power Saving
- In the Shutdown Function option select: Suspend
- Hit: Ctrl+Alt+F2
- Enter your Username
- Enter your Password
- Reconfigure lirc:

- Enter your Password
- Select: Windows Media Center Transceivers/Remotes (all)
- Select: Microsoft Windows Media Center V2 (usb) : Direct TV Receiver
...[OK]'s should appear
- Edit the grub:

- Find the line at the bottom: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="blah blah blah"
- Add to the end of that line the bolded text:

- Hit Ctrl+X, Y, Enter to save
- Update the grub:

- List wakeup triggers:

- We are going to set USB0 to wakeup (USB0 is on the back at the bottom beside the white DVI port, plug your IR Receiver there)
- Edit: /etc/rc.local:

- Add to the bottom right above "exit 0":

- Hit Ctrl+X, Y, Enter to save
- List the USB devices:

- Find your IR Receiver
- Write down the ####:#### after ID (Mine was 1784:0011, if different change below appropriately)
- Make a new script:

- Add in one line:

- Hit Ctrl+X, Y, Enter to save
- Set permissions:

- Reboot:

- Cross fingers and try the Power On/Off button on your remote!

I have to thank you for posting. Your instructions on the remote got mine working perfect.
Besides that fix all I had to do was fix the HDMI channel mapping.
Now, I love my nT330i
find quote
rockerduck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #176
is it possible to have a link to download the 943F1P07 bios?
the link provided above is expired, thank you...
find quote
Post Reply