Release - PicasaWeb - Picasa Web Albums Image Plugin Addon

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #46
Wink

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
hjt61 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Post: #47
Hello ruuk,

Great job, thanks a lot for developing this, especially as a Flickr user. Hopefully this gives you lots of good karma points !

I tested the plugin on ATV1, connected to full HD TV, running an Eden based Openelec release. Playing around with it, everything seems to work pretty good. Very stable, no crashes.

But I noticed that the quality of the pictures is pretty low. They look grainy as if low resolution images have been scaled up.

When I watch the same pictures from my network drive (the source pictures which were uploaded to Picasa with resolution of max. 1280 pixels wide), they are crisp and sharp as I would expect. And watching them in Picasa on a Desktop or Laptop they look pretty good too.

Here's an example of one of my public Picasa folders.

I didn't find any option to configure the picture quality. Does your plugin have any influence on that??
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #48
hjt61 Wrote:.....
But I noticed that the quality of the pictures is pretty low. They look grainy as if low resolution images have been scaled up.

When I watch the same pictures from my network drive (the source pictures which were uploaded to Picasa with resolution of max. 1280 pixels wide), they are crisp and sharp as I would expect. And watching them in Picasa on a Desktop or Laptop they look pretty good too.

Here's an example of one of my public Picasa folders.

I didn't find any option to configure the picture quality. Does your plugin have any influence on that??
Same here. I didn't notice earlier as my XBMC was quite small. But they do appear to be the thumbnails scaled up.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,453
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 180
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #49
Changes:
[INDENT]Handle videos
Fix a bug where some private images would not show even when privacy filter allowed private[/INDENT]

Get it here:

http://picasaphotos-xbmc.googlecode.com/...-0.8.7.zip

I'll look at the image quality. Man if it's not one thing it's another Smile

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #50
Videos are working fine now. That was fast.

My private albums were working before and still are, so that's good too!

I double checked the image quality and there is definitely something going on there. I viewed the same image using the add-on "Picasa Web Albums" to compare.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,453
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 180
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #51
This should enable hi-res photos. It doesn't seem to be available in the api. (the irritating and badly documented api) I had to hack the url to get it work. The photos, I believe, are now original size.

Get it here:

http://picasaphotos-xbmc.googlecode.com/...-0.8.8.zip

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #52
Pictures look much better now great work. It might just be need. I need to check the last version, but are thumbnails loading slower now?

Is there any way to apply the same hack to the map images?

EDIT:
Nope, they are loading at the same speed. I had just entered an album I have not viewed before.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-27 22:04 by kricker.)
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,453
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 180
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #53
kricker Wrote:Is there any way to apply the same hack to the map images?

Nope. That is the maximum image size you can get from google maps, afaik.

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #54
Better than nothing I guess.

Nice work.

Strangely I have noticed some images I can view the map, others I do not even get the option in the context menu. I checked online and the ones I can not get a map in the add-on do indeed have a location assigned to them.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,453
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 180
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #55
kricker Wrote:Better than nothing I guess.

Nice work.

Strangely I have noticed some images I can view the map, others I do not even get the option in the context menu. I checked online and the ones I can not get a map in the add-on do indeed have a location assigned to them.

I'll have to check that out. It will only show the option in the context menu if it found location data, so that means it didn't find any if it's not there. Is perhaps the difference that some of the images have location data in the phot exif data versus being set in Picasa?

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #56
Maybe. Some were probably set in the Picasa app versus Picasa online. If I get time tonight I'll check them in more detail.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
hjt61 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Thumbs Up   
Post: #57
ruuk Wrote:This should enable hi-res photos. It doesn't seem to be available in the api. (the irritating and badly documented api) I had to hack the url to get it work. The photos, I believe, are now original size.

Get it here:

http://picasaphotos-xbmc.googlecode.com/...-0.8.8.zip

Thanks a lot, ruuk! The plugin works very nice now. Image quality is "picture perfect" - great job !

Greetings from Canada,
/Hermann
find quote
arman0223 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
Hi Ruuk, I Just installed the picasa plugin in ATV2 but there's no login option. only the search option. Please help me.

Thanks
Arman
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,449
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #59
You need to go to the addon and configure it most likely. Go to pictures/addons, then highlight the addon and bring up the context menu and choose Add-on settings. Or go to settings/Add-ons/Enabled Add-ons/Picture Add-ons/Picasa/configure.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,453
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 180
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #60
Turns out that even though 640x640 is the max size for the non-business google static maps, there is a scale option which doubles the resolution. So I was able to bring the maps to full 720p.

Get it v0.8.9 here:

http://picasaphotos-xbmc.googlecode.com/...-0.8.9.zip

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
Post Reply