Acer Revo 3610 (Your Opinions)
I am considering buying an Acer Revo 3610 as I seen the forum flooded with threads about them. I am new to the ION market so I was hoping you guys could give me a few pointers. I plan on running the live version of XBMC on this.

I have a credit account already with newegg.com so I'll end up buying it from them. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...o%20AR3610

This box comes with 2GB of ram (1 GB per slot). Assuming I'll be streaming some hefty blu ray rips; is 2GB sufficient? or should I consider upgrading the unit to 4GB?

Also I notice the HDD is a regular 5400rpm 250GB sata drive. I've considered buying a 30-40 GB SSD drive as a replacement. I have no plans on storing media on this box since everything will come from streams. I know SSD drives are fast and alot faster then regular sata drives. However is the speed increase something that is VERY noticeable? Where might I see improvements having an XBMC Live machine with an SSD drive vs. a regular hard drive.

Thanks for all the information in advance. Everyone on this site has been great, you all have taught me a lot
JRock Wrote:This box comes with 2GB of ram (1 GB per slot). Assuming I'll be streaming some hefty blu ray rips; is 2GB sufficient? or should I consider upgrading the unit to 4GB?

2GB is MORE THAN ENOUGH. Streaming video (yes even full bluray rips) doesn't require a lot of RAM at all.
Thanks for your reply and what do u think about the HDD? Any opinions on that?
JRock Wrote:Thanks for your reply and what do u think about the HDD? Any opinions on that?

if you use an fast distro like OpenELEC.tv an slow HDD is good enough. No need for an expensive SSD drive. The revo will boot with OpenELEC.tv in 10-15sec to XBMC.
greetings, Stephan

You really need a SSD. The interface feels way faster. Laptop HDs are SLOW. It is not about booting. It is about pulling the fanart off the drive. A SSD's seek time is magnitudes better than the best HD on the planet.