[RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 21 Votes - 4.81 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Bedwyr Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6016
- Regarding Cirrus Extended, is this advice still current for the Gotham edition: http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=101 where you have to change the folder structure of additional fan art?

To be clear, if I currently have a structure of \Emulators\Emulator1\Artwork\Videos\ I would have to manually change it to \Emulators\All_Extra_Artowork\Game1\extrafanart\ for it to work?

Are there other skins that support the extrafanart or is it just Cirrus?


Two other questions about Advanced Launcher and Cirrus Extended,

- Can Cirrus automatically detect thumbnail aspect ratios? So for example if I have one item that is square and the other DVD-style tall, can Cirrus figure this out on its own or will it only display one aspect ratio for a whole launcher category?

- The Games home menu automatically loads Advanced Launcher as an add-on? Since I have AL for bother games and several other programs (Chrome, VLC, and a couple others) I am guessing that Cirrus isn't as customizable such that I can have just the game launchers and not the other programs?

Thanks.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 17:02 by Bedwyr.)
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,241
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6017
(Yesterday 17:01)Bedwyr Wrote:  - Regarding Cirrus Extended, is this advice still current for the Gotham edition: http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=101 where you have to change the folder structure of additional fan art?

To be clear, if I currently have a structure of \Emulators\Emulator1\Artwork\Videos\ I would have to manually change it to \Emulators\All_Extra_Artowork\Game1\extrafanart\ for it to work?

Are there other skins that support the extrafanart or is it just Cirrus?


Two other questions about Advanced Launcher and Cirrus Extended,

- Can Cirrus automatically detect thumbnail aspect ratios? So for example if I have one item that is square and the other DVD-style tall, can Cirrus figure this out on its own or will it only display one aspect ratio for a whole launcher category?

- The Games home menu automatically loads Advanced Launcher as an add-on? Since I have AL for bother games and several other programs (Chrome, VLC, and a couple others) I am guessing that Cirrus isn't as customizable such that I can have just the game launchers and not the other programs?

Thanks.
Yes it still valid. For what I know, Cirrus Extended still the skin that better include and support the features offered by Advanced Launcher. And you will have to put the extrafanart of each item (game) into different folder. The skin automatically display as extra-fanarts all the images contained into the folder specified by the Advanced Modification / Custon Folder value of each item. I don't know if there is other skin the support extra fanarts for Advanced Launcher. For you other questions concerning the Cirrus Extended skin, ask them here directly : http://forum.xbmc.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=133

You have to understand that Advanced Launcher do not have any direct interaction with the skin. Advanced Launcher is not skin dependent. All the informations are directly send to XBMC and then displayed by the skin. Advanced Launcher do not have any control on how and what it is displayed. Only the skin do.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

(This post was last modified: Yesterday 17:27 by Angelscry.)
find quote
Bedwyr Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6018
Thank you for answering and I appreciate the clarification and your patience. Sometimes it can be easy for a non-developer to lose track of where the skin begins and AL ends.
find quote
bleakassassin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6019
EDIT: Never mind, I forgot to change the settings in the add-on.

Anyways, since I edited out the original question, I'd just like to say how excellent this program is for adding games to XBMC. I really like how it showcases them. Thank you for your hard work on it!
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 23:33 by bleakassassin.)
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,241
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6020
(Yesterday 23:27)bleakassassin Wrote:  Hey, I'm back with what seems to be an odd quirk. Whenever I add a new item to a launcher manually, it will automatically recognize any local thumbnail or fanart for the item and apply it to the item. However, if I select "Scan for New Items", it will only scrape data, ignoring any thumbnail or fanart it may have. Is this intended behavior?
It's hard to help you with out any further information. Have you set up both the thumbs and the fanart collecting mehod to Local Images? During the launcher creation, have you indicated the right folder paths for the thumbs and the fanarts images? Also, does your thumbs and fanart images are named correctly (http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=4#p4)?

It could also be an XBMC cache refreshing problem. Try to close and restart XBMC to see if the thumbs and fanart images are recognized correctly.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

find quote
bleakassassin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6021
(Yesterday 23:34)Angelscry Wrote:  It's hard to help you with out any further information. Have you set up both the thumbs and the fanart collecting mehod to Local Images? During the launcher creation, have you indicated the right folder paths for the thumbs and the fanarts images? Also, does your thumbs and fanart images are named correctly (http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=4#p4)?

It could also be an XBMC cache refreshing problem. Try to close and restart XBMC to see if the thumbs and fanart images are recognized correctly.
Whoa, you were too quick for my edit! Sorry for the questions, I've been heavily configuring XBMC lately and I've had a lot of questions come to mind. This one just popped up before I did too much experimenting. Thanks anyways!
(This post was last modified: Today 00:10 by bleakassassin.)
find quote
Post Reply