[PATCH] Dual Audio Output support for XBMC (Eden Updated)

  Thread Rating:
  • 18 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
naa3e5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Question  RE: [PATCH] Dual Audio Output support for XBMC (Eden Updated)
Post: #451
hey all,

I am having a hell of a time getting this patched version to work... I am running Win7 x64, ATI Radeon 6xxx HDMI and an analog soundcard (I have treid both a Juli@ and Realtek onboard AC97 sound)...

I get sound out by HDMI but I cant get any sound using Analog by itself, I have to fire up the first zone connected to HDMI then sound comes out analog outputs for Zone 2, if I have zone 1 turned off, then nothing comes out Zone 2. I have tried using both Eden and Dharma with the respective patches on clean installs...is this normal? If so this kills my other zone if they both need to be going just to get sonud out the analog...

Like others I need this patch because I am using one XBMC for two different zones and my Onkyo only accepts analog inputs for Zone 2.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-08 02:07 by naa3e5.)
find quote
naa3e5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #452
So for some additional troubleshooting I decided to unhook HDMI and replace it with optical out. In Zone 1 with optical I get stuttering when I have output 2 enabled. If I set it to disabled everything is great.

I'm at a loss...
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-08 05:37 by naa3e5.)
find quote
naa3e5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #453
This is the log file I get when i have outut 1 set to Optical and outut 2 set to Analog

21:42:55 T:3060 M:2669490176 NOTICE: DVDPlayer: Opening: smb://HAL9000/DVD/Movies/3-10 to Yuma/3-10 to Yuma.mkv
21:42:55 T:3060 M:2669486080 WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(player)::Put MSGQ_NOT_INITIALIZED
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2669481984 NOTICE: Creating InputStream
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2669420544 NOTICE: Creating Demuxer
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663972864 NOTICE: Opening video stream: 0 source: 256
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663972864 NOTICE: Creating video codec with codec id: 2
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663919616 NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::Open() Using codec: MPEG-2 video
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663915520 NOTICE: Creating video thread
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663911424 NOTICE: Opening audio stream: 1 source: 256
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663911424 NOTICE: Finding audio codec for: 86020
21:42:55 T:1460 M:2663903232 NOTICE: running thread: video_thread
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663813120 NOTICE: Creating audio thread
21:42:55 T:1080 M:2663809024 NOTICE: Opening Subtitle stream: 2 source: 256
21:42:55 T:1912 M:2663804928 NOTICE: running thread: CDVDPlayerAudio::Process()
21:42:55 T:1912 M:2663591936 NOTICE: Creating audio device with codec id: 86020, channels: 2, sample rate: 48000, pass-through
21:42:55 T:1912 M:2652786688 NOTICE: Creating audio device with codec id: 86020, channels: 6, sample rate: 48000, no pass-through
21:42:55 T:1460 M:2652495872 NOTICE: fps: 29.970030, pwidth: 720, pheight: 480, dwidth: 719, dheight: 405
21:42:55 T:1460 M:2652495872 NOTICE: Display resolution USER : 1920x1080 @ 60.00 - Full Screen (39)
21:42:57 T:1912 M:2647674880 ERROR: CDVDAudio::AddPacketsRenderer - timeout adding data to renderer
21:42:57 T:1912 M:2647674880 ERROR: CDVDAudio::AddPackets - failed to add leftover bytes to render
find quote
naa3e5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #454
Figured it out!!!

After 2 days of troubleshooting ...

Both devices under windows bust be set at the same output frequency. in this case my analog output was set at 2Ch 16bit 44.1Khz and the Optical was set at 2Ch 16bit 48khz ... when I set these eual it resolved my issue...

For now I'll give up on HDMI and just use optical!
find quote
crimsonfury Offline
Fan
Posts: 515
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Arizona, U.S.
Post: #455
What is the difference between the Mod and 11.0 Eden patch?

I have the Eden one installed and it is giving me trouble;

(2012-04-07 23:49)crimsonfury Wrote:  Ok now it won't play audio in our bedroom 2.0 stereo setup if I don't have the surround stereo on too! It says failed to find audio device... So I close xbmc turn on other setup with surround and turn volume way down then turn on xbmc and hit play and it plays in the bedroom. But as soon as I turn off the living room surround connection it cuts the bedroom audio! It worked good before Eden xbmc 11.0... It worked with both setups on or just one and that was with Eden rc2.

Anyone?

[Image: all-thin-banner@2x.jpg]
find quote
naa3e5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #456
(2012-04-09 21:56)crimsonfury Wrote:  What is the difference between the Mod and 11.0 Eden patch?

I have the Eden one installed and it is giving me trouble;

(2012-04-07 23:49)crimsonfury Wrote:  Ok now it won't play audio in our bedroom 2.0 stereo setup if I don't have the surround stereo on too! It says failed to find audio device... So I close xbmc turn on other setup with surround and turn volume way down then turn on xbmc and hit play and it plays in the bedroom. But as soon as I turn off the living room surround connection it cuts the bedroom audio! It worked good before Eden xbmc 11.0... It worked with both setups on or just one and that was with Eden rc2.

Anyone?

Thats basically what it was doing with HDMI for Zone 1 in my house... Zone 2 is 2Ch analog in my bedroom and I wouldnt get any sound without turning on Zone 1 HDMI.
find quote
ReMi Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Nov 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #457
(2010-11-24 10:57)xhbl Wrote:  11.0-Eden:
History:
--------------------------------------------------------
Changed: (Mar. 25, 2012)
Update to the 11.0-Eden. Windows binary patch and full modified sources are provided. Pls build the binary using the modified sources by yourself under other OS platform.

Thanks !! Good work Rofl
This should me made a default part of XBMC !
find quote
mad-max Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,479
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 58
Location: Germany
Post: #458
ReMi Wrote:  This should me made a default part of XBMC !

This won't likely happen as AE is rolling towards GIT master...
But AFAIK such a feature will there be implemented

[Image: obi3o55x.jpg]
[Image: 7c8w3bu8.png]

- - - Tribute to Metallica - - -

If I managed to help you, please click my reputation
find quote
crimsonfury Offline
Fan
Posts: 515
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Arizona, U.S.
Post: #459
I didn't read... Sorry

[Image: all-thin-banner@2x.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-17 00:34 by crimsonfury.)
find quote
Tjalfen83 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #460
Hi,

i'm pretty new to XBMC. I just installed your patch, but now experience a bad studder during playback. This just happened after i installed it. Did anybody else experience this?

Cheers
find quote
thica Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Post: #461
(2012-04-10 20:56)ReMi Wrote:  Thanks !! Good work Rofl
This should me made a default part of XBMC !

+1

___________________________________
Panasonic TH50PZ70E -Denon AVS1909
Octagon 1018-Logitech Harmony 885
HTPC Asus / XBMC
Focal Suspense-JBL SUB 175 - T&A Pulsar TAV 500 - T&A Pulsar TAR 400 E
Unraid NAS 15 TB Net
find quote
Dwolf Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #462
I agree I love this patch. Dual audio is awesome... I have hdmi going to my tv, and optical going to my digital wireless headphones. Perfectly in sync

The only way to top this patch would be to add support DTS-MA.
find quote
THX-UltraII Offline
Fan
Posts: 324
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: the Netherlands
Post: #463
Is this patch the solution for what I am looking for? I want:

dual audio output simultanously:
output1 HDMI (NVIDIA GTX460) with DTS-MA/True-HD audio
output2 with DTS/DD core via optical out Creative X-Fi surround 5.1 optical out

Don't dream your life, live your dream
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-16 11:40 by THX-UltraII.)
find quote
thica Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Post: #464
Yes, that should work, Got it similar with my onboard optical out (and onboard HDMI as main output)
I am not sure about DTS-MA/True-HD and HDMI...

___________________________________
Panasonic TH50PZ70E -Denon AVS1909
Octagon 1018-Logitech Harmony 885
HTPC Asus / XBMC
Focal Suspense-JBL SUB 175 - T&A Pulsar TAV 500 - T&A Pulsar TAR 400 E
Unraid NAS 15 TB Net
find quote
crimsonfury Offline
Fan
Posts: 515
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Arizona, U.S.
Post: #465
Does this work if I have 1st setup as HDMI/5.1 default audio and 2nd setup as Analogue/2.0 Stereo, and I have the hdmi setup as the default in Windows Playback devices? But I only want to turn on the stereo device and play a movie without the other hdmi device turned on?

Because right now with this Patch, I get great sound with both TVs on in both rooms but once I turn off the 5.1 hdmi TV it says Audio device not found and won't play audi. I have to go and change it manually in Menu to Analogue...

[Image: all-thin-banner@2x.jpg]
find quote
Post Reply