HTPC Component Feedback
I have been running XBMC on an original XBox for several years but would like a XBMC system that is capable of HD. I started to put together a wish list for a system about a year ago but decided to hold off and see how Blu-Ray support for Linux would progress. With the launch of Netflix in Canada, and lack of a Linux solution for Netflix, I have been considering the option of using Windows as the OS. There is a good chance I'll abandon Netflix and Blu-Ray for now and go with Linux in the end but I want to make sure my components will work well regardless which OS I choose.

I was fairly confident in my choices a year ago, but with newer CPU and GPU options I'm not sure what is best. I'm hoping for some feedback on my list to help steer me in the right direction:

Case: HD-Plex H5.ODD
Motherboard: Zotac GF9300-D-E ITX
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz 6MB 65W 1333FSB
Memory: Corsair XMS2 4GB (2X2GB) PC8500
SSD Drive: OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB 2.5IN SATA2

I realize that the Intel E8400 is overkill for video playback, especially for a Linux HTPC, but a beefier CPU seems to be necessary for things like HD Flash. I'm assuming that transcoding with MakeMKV would also benefit from a decent CPU if I'm going to be playing with Blu-Ray support in Linux.

Many people seem to be recommending Core i3 processors now, is there any benefit of the Core i3/i5/i7 architecture for building a HTPC? The integrated graphics are not suited for Linux so I would think an external GPU would be necessary but does the CPU offer anything to make it worth while? The TDP of these chips is also higher so I would be worried about cooling the CPU with the fanless heatsink system of the HD-Plex chassis (although I would need to find another case if I was forced to use an external card anyway).