[GUIDE] Acer Revo R3700 - XBMC Live Dharma

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
gjriehl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Does this install XBMC to the hard drive or do I still need to keep in the USB Drive?

Also, will this work on the Acer Revo 1600? I bought that and then just upgraded the RAM to 2 GB.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-11 01:26 by gjriehl.)
find quote
rambo181 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
kozzie Wrote:rambo181: installing the video drivers one more time fixed it for me.

thanks for the info, I'll give this a go and see how it turns out.
find quote
unkis17 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Can anyone confirm if this will work on the FoxConn 330i Pcs?

Thanks,

Unkis
find quote
dcgrove Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
So I followed the directions in the first post to set up my Revo 3610 but am still not getting any sound. I skipped the step 8 as my tv only does 720p. My choices under audio settings are below. Any ideas what is wrong?

Audio Output: HDMI>Optical>Analog

Audio Output Device: hdmi>iec958>Custom>default
Passthrough Output Device: hdmi>iec958>Custom>

My log file can be found here:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2177279/xbmc.log

Thanks for your help!
find quote
epthegeek Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Just wanted to say thanks for the thread. I used it to set up my 2 new 3700s. The only snag I ran into was that I had to hit F12 to get the boot menu and use the USB stick. It wouldn't boot from it based on the bios setting for some reason. Just figured I throw that in in case it might help someone else in the future.

Cheers!
find quote
Uuaww Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Location: Virgin Islands
Post: #21
My Revo updated to dharma but it won't recognize any of my USB drives. Neither an external or thumb. USB mouse and keyboard work though.
find quote
Uuaww Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Location: Virgin Islands
Post: #22
Did some trouble shooting, and checked the boot menu and my Revo does recognize the USB drive there. But not while in xbmc. I tried uninstalling live and re installing it from the command line but no lucK
find quote
hjoshi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Hi,

I've followed this guide but on the first boot, I see nothing on the screen and this in /var/log/Xorg.0.log:

(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
(**) Jan 15 01:46:34 NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU ION (GT218) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 70.18.70.00.05
(II) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 1X
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on ION at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): none
(EE) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): No display devices found for this X screen.
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found


Any idea what could be going on here?
find quote
rambo181 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
hjoshi Wrote:Hi,

I've followed this guide but on the first boot, I see nothing on the screen and this in /var/log/Xorg.0.log:

(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
(**) Jan 15 01:46:34 NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU ION (GT218) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 70.18.70.00.05
(II) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 1X
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on ION at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): none
(EE) Jan 15 01:46:35 NVIDIA(0): No display devices found for this X screen.
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found


Any idea what could be going on here?

I had this problem too. I take it that instead of booting into xbmc you're just stuck on a command line prompt? If so, what I did was restart xbmc live from command line.

sudo /etc/init.d/xbmc-live restart

sudo /etc/init.d/xbmc-live stop

sudo /etc/init.d/xbmc-live start

I don't know if you really need to do the 1st command but give it a go and see how you get on.
find quote
hjoshi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
Thanks for the reply but this isn't the isn't the case here, on boot:
ps aux | grep xbmc
Shows:
josh 1270 0.0 0.0 1832 528 ? S 03:28 0:00 sh -c /usr/bin/cpp -DHOST=xbmc -DSERVERHOST=xbmc -DSRVR_xbmc -DDISPLAY_NUM=0 -DCLIENTHOST=xbmc -DCLNT_xbmc -DVERSION=11 -DREVISION=0 -DVENDOR="The X.Org Foundation" -DVNDR_The_X_Org_Foundation -DRELEASE=10706000 -DNUM_SCREENS=1 -DEXT_DAMAGE -DEXT_XINERAMA -DEXT_RANDR -DEXT_RENDER -DEXT_XFIXES -DEXT_XINERAMA -DEXT_SECURITY -DEXT_XC_MISC -DEXT_XKEYBOARD -DEXT_SYNC -DEXT_BIG_REQUESTS -DEXT_XTEST -DEXT_XInputExtension -DEXT_MIT_SHM -DEXT_SHAPE -DEXT_Generic_Event_Extension -DEXT_NV_CONTROL -DEXT_NV_GLX -DEXT_DRI2 -DEXT_RECORD -DEXT_GLX -DEXT_DOUBLE_BUFFER -DEXT_X_Resource -DEXT_XVideo -DEXT_DPMS -DEXT_XFree86_DGA -DEXT_XFree86_VidModeExtension -DEXT_MIT_SCREEN_SAVER -DSCREEN_NUM=0 -DWIDTH=640 -DHEIGHT=480 -DX_RESOLUTION=2949 -DY_RESOLUTION=2945 -DPLANES=24 -DBITS_PER_RGB=8 -DCLASS=TrueColor -DCLASS_TrueColor=33 -DCOLOR -DCLASS_TrueColor_24=33 -DCLASS_DirectColor_24=34 /etc/X11/Xresources/x11-common
josh 1271 0.0 0.0 2244 748 ? S 03:28 0:00 /usr/bin/cpp -DHOST=xbmc -DSERVERHOST=xbmc -DSRVR_xbmc -DDISPLAY_NUM=0 -DCLIENTHOST=xbmc -DCLNT_xbmc -DVERSION=11 -DREVISION=0 -DVENDOR=The X.Org Foundation -DVNDR_The_X_Org_Foundation -DRELEASE=10706000 -DNUM_SCREENS=1 -DEXT_DAMAGE -DEXT_XINERAMA -DEXT_RANDR -DEXT_RENDER -DEXT_XFIXES -DEXT_XINERAMA -DEXT_SECURITY -DEXT_XC_MISC -DEXT_XKEYBOARD -DEXT_SYNC -DEXT_BIG_REQUESTS -DEXT_XTEST -DEXT_XInputExtension -DEXT_MIT_SHM -DEXT_SHAPE -DEXT_Generic_Event_Extension -DEXT_NV_CONTROL -DEXT_NV_GLX -DEXT_DRI2 -DEXT_RECORD -DEXT_GLX -DEXT_DOUBLE_BUFFER -DEXT_X_Resource -DEXT_XVideo -DEXT_DPMS -DEXT_XFree86_DGA -DEXT_XFree86_VidModeExtension -DEXT_MIT_SCREEN_SAVER -DSCREEN_NUM=0 -DWIDTH=640 -DHEIGHT=480 -DX_RESOLUTION=2949 -DY_RESOLUTION=2945 -DPLANES=24 -DBITS_PER_RGB=8 -DCLASS=TrueColor -DCLASS_TrueColor=33 -DCOLOR -DCLASS_TrueColor_24=33 -DCLASS_DirectColor_24=34 /etc/X11/Xresources/x11-common
josh 1272 1.0 0.0 13052 1744 ? D 03:28 0:00 /usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.3/cc1 -E -quiet -DHOST=xbmc -DSERVERHOST=xbmc -DSRVR_xbmc -DDISPLAY_NUM=0 -DCLIENTHOST=xbmc -DCLNT_xbmc -DVERSION=11 -DREVISION=0 -DVENDOR=The X.Org Foundation -DVNDR_The_X_Org_Foundation -DRELEASE=10706000 -DNUM_SCREENS=1 -DEXT_DAMAGE -DEXT_XINERAMA -DEXT_RANDR -DEXT_RENDER -DEXT_XFIXES -DEXT_XINERAMA -DEXT_SECURITY -DEXT_XC_MISC -DEXT_XKEYBOARD -DEXT_SYNC -DEXT_BIG_REQUESTS -DEXT_XTEST -DEXT_XInputExtension -DEXT_MIT_SHM -DEXT_SHAPE -DEXT_Generic_Event_Extension -DEXT_NV_CONTROL -DEXT_NV_GLX -DEXT_DRI2 -DEXT_RECORD -DEXT_GLX -DEXT_DOUBLE_BUFFER -DEXT_X_Resource -DEXT_XVideo -DEXT_DPMS -DEXT_XFree86_DGA -DEXT_XFree86_VidModeExtension -DEXT_MIT_SCREEN_SAVER -DSCREEN_NUM=0 -DWIDTH=640 -DHEIGHT=480 -DX_RESOLUTION=2949 -DY_RESOLUTION=2945 -DPLANES=24 -DBITS_PER_RGB=8 -DCLASS=TrueColor -DCLASS_TrueColor=33 -DCOLOR -DCLASS_TrueColor_24=33 -DCLASS_DirectColor_24=34 /etc/X11/Xresources/x11-common -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -mtune=generic -march=i486 -fstack-protector


Now, if I add to xorg.conf:
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP-0"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
SubSection "Display"

In the screen section, the HDMI shows me xbmc but I'm limited to 640x480 and I have no sound (but that's another issue).
find quote
scoggy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Thanks for the guide. I've taken the plunge on replacing my old XBox running XBMC and bought a Revo R3700. I had this thread bookmarked for when it arrived.

It arrived today, so I started the process of installing XBMC. I'd like to install it on a USB stick, and keep Windows 7 on the HDD.

I inserted my USB stick on which I'd put XBMCFreak, and tried to install it, but it freezes on the 'Starting up the partitioner' screen. It says 'Scanning disks...' below the progress bar, and freezes at 43%.

I've seen several references to this issue on various forums, but no solutions. Does anyone know of any?

I tried using the standard XBMC Live iso as well, and had exactly the same problem.
find quote
peerson Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
Thanks for the helpful posts, all of you.

I finally got my sound to work (2 speaker, normal hdmi TV setup) after almost going crazy by using these settings:

System -> Sytem -> Audio output

Audio output device: custom
Custom audio device: plughw:1,7

Enter "plughw:1,7" in by (virtual or not) keyboard, it's not an option you can choose. I also deleted the alsa config before, but that might not be necessary.

I didn't get this (plughw:1,7) out of thin air or by a brute force string attack on the settings, found it here (the alsa module install didn't work for me and obviously wasn't necessary):

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.ph...25530.html

Hope this helps some lost souls who last touched Linux in 1999 like me.
find quote
rapidvelo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
Thank so much for this guide everything worked like a charm. Just a small snag I'm noticing a small judder or blur in movies? Is anyone else experiencing this issue? Please help

Thank you
find quote
JRock Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
I used Unetbootin to make a usb live stick and choose to Install XBMC. It gets stuck during the install talking about CD rom drives and what not........ ?
find quote
tservo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Any tips on how to get the wireless drivers installed? I've been at it for hours with no luck.
(This post was last modified: 2011-02-21 01:26 by tservo.)
find quote