Acer Revo R3700 - card reader speed?
Hi

Noob here...

I have been wanting to replace my Sky box for a while now and made the decision before Christmas to purchase a Boxee Box for £205.

As it was delayed due to the weather conditions I started to do more research on HTPC and have decided to cancel the Boxee Box and order an Acer Revo R3700 which is due Thurs.

I have been advised to run XBMC on this but I do not feel capable/comfortable replacing windows with XBMC.

I think I will first try to run XBMC live on a plugin device.

There are numerous threads on XBMC live on CD, SD and USB FD but something is confusing me.

How do I ensure I choose the best possible option for the fastest boot time? This all seems dependant on the speed of the Acer's card reader if going the SD route...but I am unable to find out up to what speed it can read the card.

Can anyone help me with finding this information out as google, for a change, has not managed to assist me? I do not want to spend silly money on a Sandisk Extreme III card (or similar) if the Acer cannot read 30MB per sec.

Next question is, if the Acer can read X MB per sec, would it be quicker with a USB FD? Any suggestions on a decent FD?

Many thanks for any help.
I don't have any answers for your hardware specific questions, but you do realize you can run XBMC from within Windows, right, just like any other program?
Thanks

No I didn't know you could run it through windows. I had wrongly assumed it's one or the other.

There must be a drawback of using XBMC as a program? I suppose it's the boot time as you would have to wait for windows and then mess about loading XBMC where as if it was a SD or FD, it would start straight from boot...

Thanks for the headsup on XBMC being used as a program, it is food for thought. Hope someone can advise on the best options for XBMC live, SD/FD on the Acer Revo.
no, you are wrong there: XBMC is just a problem, wether it runs under windows or under linux.