Not smooth playback MKV/MP4 h264 videos
Hi,

I do not master codecs, encoders, video streams. I am an 'normal' user/amateur. I kindly ask the help of some expert or guru about.

As I like very much XBMC I use to rip my DVDs to MKV or MP4 H.264 files so to create my video library and use it with XBMC. I use Handbreak or Xilisoft DVD ripper. The first as I find it easier, the latter because it has CUDA support and it transcode/compress a movie in less than 30 minutes.

The only setting I touch is bitrate that I set to 2400Kbits / 2800Kbits to get the best compromise between size and quality. I leave framerate and resolution to 'original', nor I touch any other setting.

Recently I dedicated a PC to be my mediacenter (AMD 6400) where I installed the latest version of XBMC. I also dowloaded more than 100 of fan arts and covers to complete my video libray. Pleased with my job I started playing movies but with my great disappoinment I noticed that all videos (MKV and MP4) did not playback smoothly. It seems that one or more frames sometimes dropped. I tried to play videos with other players such as Windows media player, GOM media player, BS player but the result was always the same.

With my great surprise when I tired VLC, the movies played perfectly.

At this point I guess there's something with codecs/software that is not working.

I installed CoreAVC but it did not help, so I uninstalled it. I don't have any codec packs installed. My sistem is Windows XP3 with all the latest updates, AMD 6400, 2Gb RAM).

I did search on the internet about this issues but I did not find any topic. I also searched XBMC forum and I found this:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=70691

Do I have to try what explained above?

Out of curiosity, why VLC plays the movies correctly? What codec/library it uses?