Aeon on an ION?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
CrashnBrn Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi Guys,

Is anyone running an Aeon skin on an ION machine? The current build of Aeon is slightly laggy on my XS35GT, it would be great if there was a stripped down, or a smaller version of the skin or mods of it.

Just wondering how some of our less powerful machines would go about handling Aeon.

This is just dreaming but maybe the new version will have a ION/Weaker Computer compatible version?

Thanks Smile
find quote
paul Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,769
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 5
Location: Planet Earth
Post: #2
I was running Aeon65 for many months on an Asrock Ion 330HT but the only way i could get it to run smoothly was to overclock my cpu from 1.6ghz to 2.0ghz, i don't know if the shuttle has the facility to overclock. you could try looking in the bios.
Or better still dump Aeon in favour of a better skin try fusion it runs much better than aeon65 and the extremely bloated MQ2

XBMC Frodo 12 - Windows 7 - Asrock Ion 330HT - Aeon Nox
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-30 08:40 by paul.)
find quote
boykster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 16
Post: #3
I run AeonMQ2 on my Asrock ION 330 machines and the performance is a tad sluggish due to the atom CPU, but overall I love it.

Overclock if you can, and use an SSD if possible for your OS/thumbnail drive
find quote
CrashnBrn Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I don't believe I have the option to overclock, plus since there is no fan (passive cooling) overclocking would probably by a bad idea. I already have a SSD, but I think it's more of the CPU not having enough horsepower since this skin is not designed to run on an Atom.

I might give some other skins a try but Aeon is awesome, I was hoping that maybe the new version would be a little more atom friendly.
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 712
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #5
I have been working very hard on a new build of Aeon all new code targeted at ion/atv users atm i call it AEON Lite it is around 11mb built on top of jezz X slik skin will be ready very soon all views are complete and all full screen views are also complete home menu/ a lot of dialogs xml coding done still a lot of work to go but will have alpha testing in the next few weeks
find quote
Baswazz Offline
Fan
Posts: 379
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #6
CrashnBrn Wrote:I don't believe I have the option to overclock, plus since there is no fan (passive cooling) overclocking would probably by a bad idea. I already have a SSD, but I think it's more of the CPU not having enough horsepower since this skin is not designed to run on an Atom.

I might give some other skins a try but Aeon is awesome, I was hoping that maybe the new version would be a little more atom friendly.

I have read a while ago: you can disable view options you don't use, in the skin details. I haven't try'd it myself yet but that will make the skin act faster.

ZombieRobot Wrote:I have been working very hard on a new build of Aeon all new code targeted at ion/atv users atm i call it AEON Lite it is around 11mb built on top of jezz X slik skin will be ready very soon all views are complete and all full screen views are also complete home menu/ a lot of dialogs xml coding done still a lot of work to go but will have alpha testing in the next few weeks

That's good news Smile

Frontend : Running on AMD Fusion A6-3500
Frontend : Raspberry PI (Raspbmc)
Remote : Motorola Nyxboard Hybrid (revised) / Boxee remote
Ziggo TV Channel Logo Pack (Dutch)
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 712
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #7
Check here in the next coming weeks for alpha testing
find quote
MarcosQui Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,576
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 93
Post: #8
It really is a beautiful work, certainly will make a great success. Nod

In this skin I think it would be great to work to make the Aeon MQ 3 who knows. Cool
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-30 13:12 by MarcosQui.)
find quote
MarcosQui Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,576
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 93
Post: #9
paul Wrote:...Or better still dump Aeon in favour of a better skin try fusion it runs much better than aeon65 and the extremely bloated MQ2

I have now (for testing only) to Aeon MQ 2 full with about 110MB if you do not use. xbt, but the skin looks better because of this = no!
find quote
CrashnBrn Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
ZombieRobot Wrote:Check here in the next coming weeks for alpha testing

Wow that's exactly what I was looking for! That's fantastic work ZombieRobot! Do you have a thread dedicated to the skin yet?

Also what have you stripped out in order to get that tiny file size?

@MarcosQui: I might give Aeon MQ2 a try but I feel that it will be sluggish on the Ion, I like your MQ3 teaser info Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-30 20:02 by CrashnBrn.)
find quote
tboooe Offline
Fan
Posts: 456
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
ZombieRobot Wrote:Check here in the next coming weeks for alpha testing

FANTASTIC! Would love to help out alpha testing if needed.
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 712
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #12
i have re used the same textures over and over instead of having multiple copys of the same textures a lot of aeon textures are not used and im sure this is what phil is doing to aeon65 2.0 i was working hard on evolution but came to a brick wall because i couldn't get the uncompressed textures it drove me nuts working around all the problems i was running into i could only see one way out and that was to re code the whole thing.
some of the larger textures that i am using have been compressed down a touch (about half the size of original ) without much noticeable changes they look great on my 1080p screen code wise it will take a long time to get it up to par with other aeon skins because it is a clusterfu#k of code to decipher also atm no genre images yet. its been crazy to try to build it as small as possible sometimes re creating some of the textures myself in photoshop but its getting there

oh yeah and for those who care it will have full pvr support thanks to Jezz X


It will be open alpha testing for everyone
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-30 20:28 by ZombieRobot.)
find quote
CrashnBrn Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
ZombieRobot Wrote:i have re used the same textures over and over instead of having multiple copys of the same textures a lot of aeon textures are not used and im sure this is what phil is doing to aeon65 2.0 i was working hard on evolution but came to a brick wall because i couldn't get the uncompressed textures it drove me nuts working around all the problems i was running into i could only see one way out and that was to re code the whole thing.
some of the larger textures that i am using have been compressed down a touch (about half the size of original ) without much noticeable changes they look great on my 1080p screen code wise it will take a long time to get it up to par with other aeon skins because it is a clusterfu#k of code to decipher also atm no genre images yet. its been crazy to try to build it as small as possible sometimes re creating some of the textures myself in photoshop but its getting there

oh yeah and for those who care it will have full pvr support thanks to Jezz X


It will be open alpha testing for everyone

That's awesome! I wish that you could release these in some unofficial repo, it would be so much easier to install and updated!
find quote
willsium Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
This looks great, can't wait to have it running. Was going to post asking if anyone had any tips to getting the aeon skin running smooth on the atom chips.
I have the Asus AT3ION board and it's very sluggish running aeon. Is there anyone who has overclocked this board with success?
find quote
>>X<< Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 2,901
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: On a farm trying to catch a fox
Post: #15
What do you mean laggy do you mean scrolling through your media as using dds for your fanart will help a lot with this as your GPU will do all the work not your CPU only downside is the files are much larger

Your other option is to cache your fanart at a lower resolution I got my parents an asrock and I have theirs set to cache the fanart at 720 which made a big improvement in all skins, if you don't mind larger dds files then that's the way to go Wink
find quote
Post Reply