MKV Optimizer - Save disk space by eliminating unneeded audio tracks

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Pr.Sinister Offline
Fan
Posts: 659
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 14
Location: Montreal, Canada
Post: #16
compcentral Wrote:anyone know how to get mkvmerge (the command line version) to display the language/name of a track? I looked through the documentation, but didn't see exactly what I was looking for.

In my batch files, i use mediainfo (command-line version)

MediaInfo also has a DLL version with wrappers for C#, C++ and even AutoIt...

Maybe you want to try with that instead...

-Pr.

------------------------------------------
[4 XBMC Clients + 3 Norco RPC-4224 Media Servers w/74 TB HDD Space]
If my post helped, thank me by adding to my reputation! :)
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #17
okay. will do. thanks for the suggestion.
find quote
Amelandbor Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 9
Location: Netherlands
Post: #18
If the program could do the work automatically that would be great.

So I select a few movies with extra audio, and select to delete all german dubbed streams (for example) and hit Go.
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #19
Amelandbor Wrote:If the program could do the work automatically that would be great.

So I select a few movies with extra audio, and select to delete all german dubbed streams (for example) and hit Go.

Working on it....

I'll try my hand at queuing jobs in mkvmerge in the next major release.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-04 07:14 by compcentral.)
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #20
Major new release! beta 1.11 now includes much more info for each file and includes new search options.
find quote
Amelandbor Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 9
Location: Netherlands
Post: #21
compcentral Wrote:Major new release! beta 1.11 now includes much more info for each file and includes new search options.

Nice, but I don't get any info on the audio tracks. I only get a ?.

Is mediainfo used to retrieve this info?
If so, is the problem the mediainfo path?
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #22
Amelandbor Wrote:Nice, but I don't get any info on the audio tracks. I only get a ?.

Is mediainfo used to retrieve this info?
If so, is the problem the mediainfo path?

mkvinfo.exe (part of the required MKVtoolnix app - linked in the first post) is used to get all the detailed info. I'll have to build in a check to alert a user if it is not found (thought that I already had code in there to do that though... hmm).

This path should be specified in the first textbox.
find quote
bramblepants Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Just out of interest, can you give me an idea as to how much space is saved when removing an audio track (on average) and how long it takes to process each movie?

OpenElec / Silverstone LC17 / 6TB / Toshiba 32WLT68

Get your freshly squeezed recipes, news and views at foodforfriendsyeah.co.uk!
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #24
bramblepants Wrote:Just out of interest, can you give me an idea as to how much space is saved when removing an audio track (on average) and how long it takes to process each movie?

It really depends on the length of the film and the encoded bitrate, but for each DTS track removed, I gained about 1-1.5 GB, and about half that for AC3 tracks.

It takes about 10-15 minutes to process each movie for me (using the server listed in my signature), but this depends on CPU/RAM of your PC... maybe even hard drive specs as well.

EDIT: I was curious... so I did the math...

Most DTS tracks seem to use a bitrate of around 1500 Kbps, so assuming the movie is say 100 minutes long:

1500 Kilobits/sec * 1024 bits/Kb = 1536000 bits/sec
1536000 bits/sec / 8 bits/byte = 192000 bytes/sec
192000 bytes/sec / 1024 bytes/KB = 187.5 KiloBytes/sec
187.5 KiloBytes/sec * 60 sec/min = 11250 KB/min
11250 KB/min / 1024 KB/MB = 10.98 MB/min
10.98 MB/min * 100 minutes = 1098 MB saved for 100 minute movie

Most AC3 tracks seem to use a bitrate of around 640 Kbps, so again, assuming the movie is say 100 minutes long:

640 Kilobits/sec * 1024 bits/Kb = 655360 bits/sec
655360 bits/sec / 8 bits/byte = 81920 bytes/sec
81920 bytes/sec / 1024 bytes/KB = 80 KiloBytes/sec
80 KiloBytes/sec * 60 sec/min = 4800 KB/min
4800 KB/min / 1024 KB/MB = 4.69 MB/min
4.69 MB/min * 100 minutes = 469 MB saved for 100min movie

Hopefully that's right... I broke it down in its simplest form so you see how it's fully calculated.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-04 23:28 by compcentral.)
find quote
Amelandbor Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 9
Location: Netherlands
Post: #25
compcentral Wrote:mkvinfo.exe (part of the required MKVtoolnix app - linked in the first post) is used to get all the detailed info. I'll have to build in a check to alert a user if it is not found (thought that I already had code in there to do that though... hmm).

This path should be specified in the first textbox.

I have mkvinfo.exe in that folder, so I don't know why it's not working.
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #26
Amelandbor Wrote:I have mkvinfo.exe in that folder, so I don't know why it's not working.

are you sure you have version 1.11 beta? I'll take a look at it in a few minutes when I get home.
find quote
Amelandbor Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 9
Location: Netherlands
Post: #27
Yes, using beta 1.11
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #28
Hmm... just tested here again and seems to work fine. Wondering if maybe you have a different version of mkvinfo.exe.

Can you do this for me:

Navigate to the folder where you installed MKVtoolnix and right-click mkvinfo.exe. Click the Details tab as shown and report what you see.

[Image: mkvinfo.PNG]
find quote
compcentral Offline
Fan
Posts: 626
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #29
Hmm... I just re-installed MKVtoolnix using the link in the first post and it looks like maybe I was the one with the old version... oops...

But using version 4.4.0.0 had no effect. Everything still works fine for me.
find quote
Amelandbor Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 9
Location: Netherlands
Post: #30
Mkvinfo is version 4.4.0.0
find quote
Post Reply