Possible to have scraped artwork on SSD/HDD and unRAID?
Hello everyone!

I started a few weeks ago, to turn my Home in a fully automated Media Experience.

Starting of with an unRAID Server and then 3x Openelec.tv XBMC-HTPCs ...

I scraped my whole Media Library with EMManager onto the unRAID Server...

As I am a fan of Speed and Fluidity, I hooked a SSD into my Home Cinema HTPC and recognized a nice speed increase, but now I want more and that leads to my question...

Is it possible to have the Pictures, Extrathumbs etc. (no Trailers or actual video files) on the XBMC SSD? maybe with a link to the unraid server for the actual video and trailer files?

Because this would be an HUGE speed improvement on the skin side??

I hope this is understandeble .. Oo

THX i.A.

Fuddster
I am NO expert in the innerworkings of XBMC but here is what I think:

The extrathumbs are being loaded out of the extrathumbs subfolder in your <movie> folder... As far as I know they are not being cached.
But I think the movieposters or thumbs are being stored in a cachefile in your profile directory. The profile already resides on your SSD.

I feel your pain, I use mostly custom fanart and thumbs as well as extrathumbs that come from various registered coverwebsites around the net.
My extrathumbs are quite large in size too because i display them on a 50inch plasma and want them to look crisp too.

Would be nice if there was the option to manually set location for various art folders?

I think more and more people are buying SSD due to the incredible boost in performance, therefore i think you have a valid point.

What do you guys think? Would it be nice to have an "Art" folder that can be specified in the XBMC settings where artwork is stored in standard folder structure?

ex:
h:\HTPC\Movies\avatar\avatar.mkv ---> is standard and set in the xbmc scraper
and the artwork on an SSD drive (dSmile
d:\htpc\art\avatar\poster.jpg
d:\htpc\art\avatar\avatar-fanart.jpg
d:\htpc\art\avatar\logo.png