HOW-TO customize the home menu with custom categories

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
sleeplesschris Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #106
what am i doing wrong? i'm in the 'Includes_Home' file and this is what appears as content within the vertical menu:

<content>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Videos)">HomeVideosButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Movies)">HomeMoviesButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_TVShows)">HomeTVShowsButton</include>
<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(Menu_MusicVideos)">HomeMusicVideosButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_TV) + System.GetBool(pvrmanager.enabled)">HomeTVButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Music) + Library.HasContent(Music) + !Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Music_FileMode)">HomeMusicButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Music) + [!Library.HasContent(Music) | Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Music_FileMode)]">HomeMusicFilesButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Pictures)">HomePicturesButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Programs)">HomeProgramsButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Weather)">HomeWeatherButton</include>
<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Favourites)">HomeFavouritesButton</include>
<include condition="!Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Settings)">HomeSettingsButton</include>
<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(Menu_PlayDisc)">HomePlayDiscButton</include>
<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Custom1)">HomeCustom1Button</include>
<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Custom2)">HomeCustom2Button</include>
<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Custom3)">HomeCustom3Button</include>
</content>
</control>

nothing like this:

<item id="16">
<label>$INFO[Skin.String(Menu_Custom3_Label)]</label>
<onclick>$INFO[Skin.String(Menu_Custom3_Path)]</onclick>
<icon>special://skin/backgrounds/settings.jpg</icon>
<thumb>$INFO[Skin.String(Home_Custom_Back_Custom3_Folder)]</thumb>
<visible>Skin.HasSetting(Menu_Custom3)</visible>
</item>

please help.
find quote
borgmanjayce Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #107
I just want to say that this is a great thread and I'll definitely be trying this out, but I have a couple of questions to ask:

1) Does this work with things like Anime OAV's, Hentai and Tokusatsu (Japanese superhero shows)?
2) I'm using Aeon MQ4 as my skin and even though I can't seem to click on the button for the menu's that I made for each custom playlist, I can't seem to get the anime stuff to be recognised as anime at all, so is there any advice you can offer to people like me who use skins such as the Aeon series, and also if they want to, how to use the scrapers from Anime News Network and AniDB instead of the one from TVDB as it sucks when it comes to a lot of 80's and 90's anime such as Zillion.
(This post was last modified: 2013-07-20 14:11 by borgmanjayce.)
find quote
chaddt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #108
is this info still correct, i tried it but seems to be different, the end result was no menu....
has it changed?
find quote
mngrl1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #109
yeah im pretty sure some things have changed i've been trying to add the

<onclick>ActivateWindow(Videosfiles,kids,return)</onclick>

but this makes it un-clickable if i put

<onclick>ActivateWindow(Videos,kids,return)</onclick>

it works but displays an empty folder.

fixed my problem

<onclick>ActivateWindow(Videos,C:/kids)</onclick>
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-16 04:54 by mngrl1.)
find quote
ryankeast Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #110
Hi,

I think I’m getting my head around this guide, which if I’m understanding it correctly, then this is just what I am after to separate my comedy stand up shows.

Firstly, my current set up is a 3TB harddrive connected to my mini PC.
On that harddrive I have folders “Albums”, “TVSHOWS” and “MOVIES”

I want to start adding comedy stand up to my library, but like many do not want it in with my default Movie Library.

So I will create a new folder on the harddrive called “STANDUP”

I will create a source called STANDUP also within XBMC.

First question, what do people use to scrap StandUP and what media type do you use?

I understand the hacking of the xml files but before I start making special smart playlists for the three following sections – TVSHOWS, MOVIES and STANDUP, what I want to check is the following.

I have spent a lot of time and effort going through each of my movies individually and scrapping them with the fanart that I like the most. Can you confirm that the MOVIES and TVSHOWS art won’t be effected by doing what I’m doing?

Thanks to those that will reply and thanks for the originator of this post as this could be the answer to my dreams :-)
find quote
csjjpm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #111
Hi,
would someone suggest how I can get mine to work properly.

I've added locations to sources.xml
<video>
<default pathversion="1"></default>
<source>
<name>Kids_TV</name>
<path pathversion="1">C:\Users\Public\Videos\Kids_TV\</path>
<allowsharing>true</allowsharing>
</source>
<source>
<name>Kids_Films</name>
<path pathversion="1">C:\Users\Public\Videos\Kids_Films\</path>
<allowsharing>true</allowsharing>
</source>
<source>
<name>Films</name>
<path pathversion="1">C:\Users\Public\Videos\Films\</path>
<allowsharing>true</allowsharing>
</source>
<source>
<name>TV</name>
<path pathversion="1">C:\Users\Public\Videos\TV\</path>
<allowsharing>true</allowsharing>
</source>
</video>

and edited the home.xml

<item id="19">
<label>Kids Films</label>
<onclick>ActivateWindow(Videos,Files,Kids_Films,return)</onclick>
<icon>-</icon>
<thumb>-</thumb>
</item>
<item id="19">
<label>Kids TV</label>
<onclick>ActivateWindow(Videos,Files,Kids_TV,return)</onclick>
<icon>-</icon>
<thumb>-</thumb>
</item>

this puts me into the 'Files' location and I can see my 'sources'

I've tried editing it to
ActivateWindow(Videos,Kids_Films,return)
but this puts me into 'Videos'

any idea how I can get straight into the 'Kids_Films' location?

thanks
Paul
find quote
budswell Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #112
Thanks, I've tried a few of the ideas in this topic and have custom front menu items for smart playlists working.
But I tend to do most of my video browsing on the ios remote, and it does not appear to have any way to access playlists for videos.
So for all my vids which i'd like to keep seperate from the movies (mainly sport) I am stuck with not adding to the library at all and browsing by file.
Is there any other way to get video library playlists and/or "sections" working in both the main UI and the iosRemote?
find quote
Ernie11 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #113
[Edit 2]
After sleeping I noticed what I did wrong, I changed the playlist paths but not the sources paths. I got it working now.

Hello. In the past I used your guide and after playing with it a little I got it to work. The problem I have now, hope you can help me figure it out, is that my main hard drive got full. I went out a bought a new hard drive so now I have 2 hard drives in my computer. I moved some of the videos to the new hard drive to open some space on my old one. I went into xbmc and edited the playlists so that it would look at the D: drive instead of the C: drive when it was looking up certain videos. Now the playlists of the videos on the 2nd drive doesnt work. All I get is the blank spaces with the popcorn background. When I go to the playlists within xbmc and open them I get the same, its like not finding the files. I did "update library" but nothing scans in. Am I forgetting something or am I doing something wrong? Thanks.

[Edit]
I changed the paths in each playlist back to the C: drive (havnt deleted it form the main yet) and all the videos show up again. Doesnt make sense to me.

Ernie.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-05 22:13 by Ernie11.)
find quote
Post Reply