Addon self update

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
What confusing me, is greyed "Update" section in Addon Information (add-on page in settings)
How can I make it actually working & updating my addon?

Anyway, is there a good sample how I can make my addon updating? Should I create repository addon as besides main addon?
Or I can create one addon which will inclule self-update information and main addon? That would be really cool - becouse I should not ask user to install from zip repo, that go to sources and install actually addon, just to get it autoupdating.
Is there any working & simple examples of that? The wiki page about repositories did not tell me much.

Thanks in advance.
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
yes, and it driving me nuts, why this is not working...
https://code.google.com/p/xbmc-vk-repo/s...nk/addons/
ERROR: Package repository.vkxbmc.zip is not a valid addon
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #3
not how it works. the add-on is updated in the repository, xbmc see it, and by default autoupdates it.
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Can you help me to figure out what is wrong with this repository?
https://code.google.com/p/xbmc-vk-repo/s...vkxbmc.zip ?

(you can view files and over there https://code.google.com/p/xbmc-vk-repo/s...nk/addons/)
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #5
works fine for me, when i remove the god damn __MACOSX folder from the zip.
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
omg. I feel stupid. Works great, those __MACOSX cost me a lot...

BTW, is it possiple, to have 2 entry ponts inside one file?
point="xbmc.addon.repository"
and
point="xbmc.python.pluginsource"
?

Like
Code:
<extension point="xbmc.python.pluginsource" provides="image, video, audio" library="default.py">
                <provides>image video audio</provides>
        </extension>
        <extension point="xbmc.addon.repository" name="VK XBMC Add-ons">
                <info compressed="false">http://xbmc-vk-repo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/addons/addons.xml</info>
                <checksum>http://xbmc-vk-repo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/addons/addons.xml.md5</checksum>
                <datadir zip="false">http://xbmc-vk-repo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/addons/</datadir>
        </extension>
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #7
you tell me Smile if it doesn't work, that's something we really want to support.
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I fell myself getnius =)
that is the way to make plugin update itself ) isn't it really cool?

Here is working example
http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-vk-repo/so.../test_test

Trick is to Name entry points different:

Code:
<extension point="xbmc.python.pluginsource" provides="image, video, audio" library="default.py">
                <provides>image video audio</provides>
        </extension>

        <extension point="xbmc.addon.repository" name="VK XBMC Add-ons">
                <info compressed="false">http://xbmc-vk-repo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/test_test/addons.xml</info>
                <checksum>http://xbmc-vk-repo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/test_test/addons.xml.md5</checksum>
                <datadir zip="false">http://xbmc-vk-repo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/test_test/</datadir>
        </extension>


otherwise, you'll get superbug, (if names are same) btw

Can you confirm or test that if it is interesting for you?
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-12 21:37 by Shchvova.)
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
and yep, it is working.

Will it still be working, or it is an unreliable way?
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #10
nice. sure, if it works it's all good
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Cheers. I think this topick would be usefull for folks. Thanks!
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Cheers!

So, add-on can be repository to it's own. Self Auto-Update Achieved =)
/sorry for flood, my browser does strange things, did not show prev. message/
find quote
solexalex Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 706
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #13
hello

Looks interesting but I'm not sure to understand very well.

Can you give the full howto to make an addon self updatable ? Or maybe we just have to set the addon.xml like you did ?
You talked about "Name entry points different" but I'm not sure to understand what need to be different exactly.

(Sorry but as english is not my native language, sometimes i'm not sure to understant correctly !)
find quote
Shchvova Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I did provide my plugin with everything - http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-vk-repo/so.../test_test

Actually, you should not install plugin and repository, they are in one box. Name differently:
"name" xml property should be different for xbmc.addon.repository, otherwise, it is really working wired.

BTW. I do not have time to test it, it would be really cool if you share your experience.
find quote
solexalex Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 706
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #15
Sorry I may be tired I don't understand... Will have a look tomorrow
find quote
Post Reply