Screen Saver

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
hi all,

i've just submitted a patch to sourceforge which gives an idle activity screen saver. pretty basic stuff to be honest, i just drop the gamma map down to 7% - when a button/trigger/etc. is pressed on the pad i restore the gamma map back to it's original state. end user can configure the timeout length (in seconds) in the xboxmediacentre.xml file. obviously leave things well alone when fullscreen video is playing or when the visualisation is active.

hope this is of interest, now i've got an idea on how it all hangs together i'll start looking into something a bit more complicated Smile

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Frodo Offline
Team MediaPortal
Posts: 508
Joined: Sep 2003
Post: #2
thanx a lot forza,
i integrated it in cvs
frodo
find quote
Hullebulle Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,901
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
forza: maybe you wanna look into adding and advanced screensaver too. maybe the matrix screensaver from mxm? Big Grin
--> http://sourceforge.net/tracker....=817632

read the xbmc online-manual, faq and search the forums before posting! do not e-mail the xbmc-team asking for support!
read/follow the forum rules! note! team-xbmc never have and never will host or distribute ms-xdk binaries/executables!
find quote
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
sure - i'll take a look. are they hosting their source anywhere in particular? 'usual places' seems a bit poorly at the moment so can't check there. Sad

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Hullebulle Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,901
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(forza @ jan. 11 2004,23:29 Wrote:sure - i'll take a look. are they hosting their source anywhere in particular? 'usual places' seems a bit poorly at the moment so can't check there. Sad
yeah its not easy to find source although it is opensource (gpl). i uploaded it here. Smile

read the xbmc online-manual, faq and search the forums before posting! do not e-mail the xbmc-team asking for support!
read/follow the forum rules! note! team-xbmc never have and never will host or distribute ms-xdk binaries/executables!
find quote
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
cool - many thanks for that. i'll have a play and see what i can come up with ...

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
MrMario64 Offline
Team MediaPortal
Posts: 246
Joined: Oct 2003
Post: #7
seems you did it, but it's not full screen on pal. (matrix saver)
could you take a look at it?

thanx for the great work, looks awesome.
find quote
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
is it full width, but not full height?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Hullebulle Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,901
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
yep the high is the problem. there is a 40pixel at the bottom in pal. if its hard to adjust it to resolutions maybe you can just make it uberbig. i think it wouldn't matter if the glyphs start and end offscreen.

read the xbmc online-manual, faq and search the forums before posting! do not e-mail the xbmc-team asking for support!
read/follow the forum rules! note! team-xbmc never have and never will host or distribute ms-xdk binaries/executables!
find quote
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
thanks for that; i'll check it out tonight.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
fixed.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
floink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #12
great job forza! i really like it.

don't know if i'm right here but i believe that when the matrix scr is running i can still see the background shine through. in the black areas i can see traces of the album art and the round retro icon on the start screen of the retro skin. is there some kind of gamma or alpha channel (don't really know what i'm talking about here but still) that isn't really set to 100% black or something?

/floink
find quote
forza Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Jan 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
umm - it does use alpha channels to fade the characters out (and the screen that was showing when it activated) - can't say i've seen this behaviour myself, but then maybe i'm not looking hard enough Smile i'll check it out ...

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Hullebulle Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,901
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
oh another thing i noticed: dim and black screen does the same for me. both end in a black screen the second they start.

and another thing. the screensaver won't start for some ppl (same for me, but now it works and i don't know why). any idea why it won't work for some ppl.

read the xbmc online-manual, faq and search the forums before posting! do not e-mail the xbmc-team asking for support!
read/follow the forum rules! note! team-xbmc never have and never will host or distribute ms-xdk binaries/executables!
find quote
floink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #15
though it's small, i can see the difference here.

@forza: maybe the difference between 7%dim and black is to small? or even better; an adjustable value?

@hullebulle: maybe obvious but; have you tried adjusting your tvs brightness/contrast to see if that is why you don't see the difference?

/floink
find quote
Post Reply