[RELEASE] Wireless Manager (Wicd based) Addon for Linux

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Thumbs Up  [RELEASE] Wireless Manager (Wicd based) Addon for Linux
Post: #1
!!Discontinued
I am stopping development on this add-on since network-manager is included in XBMCbuntu and it conflicts with wicd.

I have now created a release thread for the new nm frondend and will stop posting here
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130816

I have upgraded to Eden.
https://github.com/downloads/vikjon0/xbm...11.0.0.zip

The install function have been removed.

You need to remove network manager and install wicd curses otherwise it does not work.
Quote:sudo apt-get purge network-manager network-manager-gnome
sudo apt-get install wicd-curses

Here is the last Dharma version
https://github.com/downloads/vikjon0/xbm...-0.0.6.zip



[Image: wireless2.png]

If you want to test you need to be able to post a debug log in case you get some errors. Another add-on that helps with that is available in the offficial repository.
The add-on is of course used on your own risk.


In the current version there is not a full properties/configure dialog. A network is set to auto connect when added, while the complete solution is pending I have added a temporarily "remove auto button". The reason is that even a failed connection attempt will set that connection to auto creating issues if that is the strongest connection.
(This may not be needed anymore in Ubuntu 11.10)
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-06 10:28 by vikjon0.)
find
BlueCop Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,433
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 73
Post: #2
excellent! I was needing something like this for my appletv running linux. I will try this later. many thanks
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #3
I will make a very simple GUI and release it for test.
Please let me know if you want to test it!

EDIT: img removed
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-21 01:08 by vikjon0.)
find
adam71o Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I would love to test this out but I am unexperienced and I'm using WPA, not WPA2 on xbmc live 10.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-20 03:59 by adam71o.)
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #5
Quote:I would love to test this out but I am unexperienced and I'm using WPA, not WPA2 on xbmc live 10.
I beleive WPA,WPA2 & WEP should work. It is only that I have not tested yet.
You are welcome to test, but if it does not work I will not be able to help you.

Please note that the picture is from the next version. The existing version is only a couple of buttons and you have to type in the name of your network.
find
adam71o Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I know this is exactly what you said that you didn't want to do, but I'll ask anyway. Teehee! Nod

How would one install this? Would I unzip the contents to a certain directory?

If so, can you explain exactly how to do that via the cli (I have an xbmc live 10 install, so no gui outside of xbmc itself)? - please be very explicit, detailing commands and all

Btw, thanks for making this. It seems like such an obvious and useful tool that has been left out of xbmc.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-20 18:13 by adam71o.)
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #7
no unzipping. put it in the home folder or on a usb.

Go to system/add-ons / install from zip file
and select the zip file.
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #8
I can report some progress! I have hooked up the new GUI to the wrapper and it can now scan the networks!

EDIT - img removed
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-22 17:01 by vikjon0.)
find
adam71o Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I get a 404 error when trying to access the zip file listed above.

Is there a new link?
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #10
Sorry about that, I fixed it. Hopefully the new GUI will be ready for test after the weekend.
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #11
The Wireless Manager add-on is now ready for test with the new GUI.
See first post.
(The download is from dropbox and it does not seem happy today you may have to try a few times.)
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #12
Now available from github
https://github.com/vikjon0/xbmc.script.linux.wireless
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #13
I figured out how to manually upload the zip. I assumed it would be generated by git, but guess not. I also figured out that that if I want a repository the add-on should be a sub folder, but thats a later problem.

https://github.com/downloads/vikjon0/xbm...-0.0.2.zip

Anyone that have tested?
find
Sidekick Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Tested on a Zotac ION ITX Board.
It worked as described.

You should add a button to "disconnect".
Perhaps the Install Button could change to disconnect after installing.

Thank you for the Skript, that is what I was waiting for since month Big Grin
find
vikjon0 Online
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #15
Quote:Tested on a Zotac ION ITX Board.
It worked as described.

You should add a button to "disconnect".
Perhaps the Install Button could change to disconnect after installing.

Thank you for the Skript, that is what I was waiting for since month

Thanks for testing! I started to think no one was interested.

Yes, I agree need a disconnect.
Other needed changes:
  • Display indicator in list if a network is set to autoconnect
  • Possiblity to display and change this and other settings (I will chnage the "details" button to a "configure")
  • Since the configure button could handle hidden network I can replace "hidden" with disconnect.
I cannot promise when this can be finished, but add a subscription to this thread. If you have any other ideas let me know.

Another thing that would be great would be if it could install without internet. I could do that, but then I think it will not be accepted into the repository. I am considering functionality to scan a USB to find the .deb files.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-24 22:49 by vikjon0.)
find
Thread Closed